Football Football

FKF release clubs eligible to vote

FKF President, Sam Nyamweya during the launch of his election manifesto in 2011.
FKF President, Sam Nyamweya during the launch of his election manifesto in 2011.

NAIROBI, October, 7 – Football Kenya Federation has released a preliminary list of 1,712 clubs from 13 branches eligible to vote at the elections that get underway October 29 at the sub-branches.

In the list published on Wednesday, a substantial number of clubs have no match reports especially in the 2014 season to raise eye brows on the credibility in which the process was done.

South Coast leads with 230 clubs whilst North Eastern North branch has the least (20) with all the clubs missing match reports.

The federation declared any disputes arising from the composition of the list will be addressed following a written petition by the aggrieved party within three days of the publication of the list.

“The National Secretariat of Football Kenya Federation has concluded the sorting, processing and compiling of raw clubs’ data as submitted by the branches and National Executive Committee members ahead of the forthcoming elections and subsequently published the preliminary list.

“A further list from the remaining seven branches will be released on Wednesday, October 7,” a statement from the federation announced.

Presidential candidates have condemned the vetting of clubs eligible to vote after FKF announced it will conduct the exercise before the Electoral Board was composed last weekend in Nairobi.

Latest entrant, Kenyan Premier League and Gor Mahia chairman, Ambrose Rachier on Tuesday called on the Electoral Board chaired by Lawyer, Donald Kipkorir to nullify the vetting, claiming briefcase clubs were incorporated to favour incumbent, Sam Nyamweya.

Similar sentiments were raised by FKF-Premier League chairman and aspirant, Nick Mwendwa as well as vice chairman, Sammy Sholei who all will be eying for the top seat that has attracted five candidates so far.

Only clubs that have consecutively participated in FKF leagues in the last three years are eligible to vote with 94 delegates entitled to attend and cast their votes at the National election set for November 13.

One delegate each will represent the 47 Branches, 16 KPL clubs whilst top eight FKL clubs, National Super League and Division 1 will also have a delegate to vote.

The women Premier League and Division 1clubs will be represented by one each while Kenya Football Referees Association, Coaches and Players Associations will produce one delegate each.