Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Duncan makes amends with Voi win

IAN-DUNCAN1NAIROBI, Kenya, May 13- Following an excruciating outing around Mount Kenya region last month, legendary driver Ian Duncan was back in the groove at the Coast when he won the KCB Voi Rally over the weekend.

Defending champion Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo savoured another podium finish when Duncan restricted him to second overall position as Baldev Chager sealed the top three.

But Tundo and Duncan had to contend with playing second fiddle to Chager who consolidated his lead in the Kenya national Rally Championship.

Chager leads the KNRC series with 190 points followed by Duncan and Tundo who tie on second place on 140 points apiece.

Tundo had this to say after returning his EVO9 in second overall position: “In the first section we had no power so we lost quite a bit of time but we pulled that back in the second one.

“The rally is a mix of everything. Taita was a stage that we really didn’t know actually what could happen. It’s one of the nicest stages I have ever done- fast flowing sometimes twisty.

“Unfortunately we had some problems with the brakes I mean, it’s obvious because we were going down for long so we had to back off. The car is actually exceptionally good. We felt quite a big difference going up the loops and the power that comes in at lower rpm so it pulls much nicely through the corners going up.”

The tricky but picturesque landscape showed no mercy to some of the drivers like Peter Horsey, Jaswinder Chana, Ben Muchemi, Adnan Suhail in 2WD and KNRC Division One youngster Raaji Bharij who registered his third successive retirement much to his chagrin.

“I was looking forward to Taita Hills which I had never done before. It would have been very nice going up and down them. But things are pretty tough now that every single run has culminated into mechanical failure. So first rally we went out with oil fuel pipe, second rally was a radiator and now the engine has let go and we were only three and half kilometers into the first stage,” said Bharij.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Another youngster Quentin Mitchell brought his Subaru N16 to fourth, 3:33 minutes behind Duncan but candidly admitted EVO drivers were untouchable.

“The route was technical, personally, a pace note rally-with lots of fasts, lots of twisty sections and lots of everything. There is no way we could challenge for a win as we had lost too much time. I don’t know why there has not been any rhythm. Thereafter, we just wanted to consolidate our position,” he added.

Jassi Chatthe was fifth a place above the veteran Azar Anwar.

Road sweeper Alex Horsey made up for his elder sibling Peter’s exit by driving the crowd pleasing “Moto Moto” Datsun pick-up to ninth.

“It’s exciting that my brother and I keep changing cars. The EVO X that Peter drove is a much faster car. The small car (Moto Moto) is much more fun,” he expressed.

The next rally will be hosted in Nakuru on the weekend of June 8-9.


1. Ian Duncan/Amaar Slatch (EVO9) 1h29m34s
2. Carl “Flash” Tundo/Tim Jessop (EVO9) 1h30m00s
3. Baldev Chager/Ravi Soni (EVO10) 1h30m47s
4. Quentin Mitchell/ Robin Dimbleby (Subaru N16) 1h33m07s
5.Jassi Chatthe/Gugu Panesar (EVO9) 1h33m22s
6. Azar Anwar/Julius Ngigi (EVO8) 1h33m43s
7. Manvir Baryan/Drew Sturrock (Subaru N16) 1h35m39s
8. Alex Horsey/Nick Dames (Datsun Pickup) 1h36m13s
9. Jasmeet Chana/Rohit Bhudia (EVO9) 1h40m39s
10. Onkar S. Rai/Raju Chaggar (Subaru N12) 1h40m43s
11. Geoff Bell/Tim Challen (Datsun 240Z) 1h42m24s
12. Farhaaz Khan/Keith Henrie (Subaru)1h42m47s
13. Isaa Amwari/Job Njiru (EVO9) 1h42m53s
14. Tejvir Rai/Zahir Shah (Subaru N16) 1h43m08s
15. J.Nganga/George Njoroge (Subaru N10) 1h45m38s
16. A.Keith/Tariq Malik (Subaru) 1h45m40s
17. Fahd Bary/Shameer Ole Yusuf (EVO9) 1h45m46s
18. Mahesh H/Ketan Halai (Subaru) 1h47m06s
19. Minesh Rathod/Norris Ongalo (Subaru) 1h47m44s
20. Don Smith/Bob Kaugi (Subaru N14) 1h50m17s
21. F.Tundo/Natasha Di Cangio (EVO9) 1h52m20s
22. Asad Khan/Steve Njenga (Subaru Legacy) 1h52m23s
23. Aakif Virani/Vinay Shah (Subaru N16) 1h52m31s
24. Harpreet Sagoo/Gurvir Phandal (Subaru N10) 1h56m50s
25. Rob Hellier/Russel Savage (Datsun 180B) 1h57m15s
26. Paras Pandya/Falgun Bhojak (Subaru N10) 1h58m46s
27. Vicky Singh/Adil Mirza (Subaru) 1h59m08s
28. Rashid Kabi/Allan Muhindi (Subaru N11) 2h01m22s
29. Nishit 2h01m42s
30. Dalbir Thethy/Julius Mwachuya (Toyota Conquest) 2h01m53s
31. Joe Muchiri/James Mwangi (Subaru gc8) 2h03m11s
32. Charan Thethy/ 2h06m44s
33. Stanley Thuo/Mwangi Waithaka (Subaru pickup) 2h09m58s
34. Hardev Sira/ (Ford Escort Mexico) 2h11m04s
35. Naveed Khalid/ Mutuma M’Marimba (Toyota Legrcvin) 2h12m56s
36. Ramesh Vishram/Atul Kocchar (Ford Escort) 2h13m06s
37. Nadeem Kana/Nehreen Ismail Subaru() 2h15m45s
38. J. Somen/Richard Hechle (Datsun) 2h15m52s
39. Samira khan/Chantal Young (Ford Escort MK2) 2h19m22s
40. Anwar Pandya/Sanju Pandya (Subaru N16) 2h24m13s
41. Phyllis Wambui/Denzel Munge (Subaru) 2h41m24s

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved