Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

English Premiership

Kante named Writers’ Footballer of the Year

Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante was also named PFA Player of the Year ahead of team-mate Eden Hazard. PHOTO/ EUROSPORT.

LONDON, United Kingdom, May 8 – France International N’Golo Kante has been voted Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The Chelsea midfielder polled most votes among the 340-strong membership, beating team-mate Eden Hazard and third-placed Dele Alli to the award.

Kante is the fifth player in six seasons to complete the awards double having last month been named Player of the Year by the Professional Footballers’ Association.

More than 65 per cent of the votes went to either Kante or Hazard, while a record number of players polled at least one vote – among them West Brom goalkeeper Ben Foster and Brighton winger Anthony Knockaert.

Kante, a summer signing from champions Leicester, will become the first outfield player to win back-to-back Premier League titles with different clubs if Chelsea win two of their remaining four games.

He said: “It is a fantastic honour to win this award. With so many great players in this Chelsea squad and in the Premier League, for the Football Writers’ Association of this country to name me as their Footballer of the Year is a very proud moment in my career.”

FWA chairman Paddy Barclay said: “N’Golo Kante could not be a more deserving winner of English football’s most prestigious individual award.

“In the view of some FWA members, he would have been a worthy recipient last season for his contribution to Leicester’s title success, but the almost unbroken excellent form of Chelsea since he changed clubs has left little room for further debate.

“Considering the competition of Eden Hazard and others from Chelsea in particular, this is a great achievement.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Full list of Footballer of the Year nominees

Sergio Aguero (Man City), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Dele Alli (Tottenham), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Diego Costa (Chelsea), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Sunderland), Ben Foster (West Brom), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Anthony Knockaert (Brighton), David Luiz (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal), Gylfi Sigurdsson (Swansea).

-By Sky Sports

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved