Rugby Rugby

Agevi, Olando in Nijja 7s Barbarians team

Mwamba’s Michael Agevi (right) in action against Western Bulls. PHOTO/Raymond Makhaya

NAIROBI, September 18 – Kenya sevens senior players, winger Michael Agevi and centre Fabian Olando, are among 12 named in the UR7s Barbarians squad for the Nigeria Independence 7s to be held on October 9 and 10 in Lagos.

Marko Gvozdenovic and Younes Hou from France who both recently played in the World Club 7s are also included in the team that is full of Rugby World Sevens Series experience with heavy Kenyan influence.

National 15s duo of fly-half Kenny Andola and winger, Darwin Mukidza also made the travelling party.

The Ultimate Rugby 7s (UR7s) Barbarians will be coached by UR7s Academy Director, Tom Burwell who said the two-day tournament is part of their Africa coaching tour programme.

“I’m really pleased with the balance in the squad and firepower. The likes of Davis Chenge, Agevi, Max Theuri, Olando and Cyprian Kuto have experience in the Kenya 7s national team and they will have a big influence in these tournament.

“We have always said we ‘Everything 7s’ and that goes from our Legacy Program in schools and clubs to the tour working in division two sides and universities through to now take a performance squad to an African tournament,”Burwell, who is also the UR7s CEO said.

He added, “We want boys to aspire to play for the Barbarians throughout Kenya and this is our first tour and we are really excited.

“The tournament is going to be of a high standard with most of the sides having played together a lot more than us especially Western Province who play in the Safari Sevens but we want to show our very best in Lagos and represent UR7s, Kenyan and French rugby.”

The Independence 7s features teams from all over the world including South Africa’s Western Province who will be flying to Lagos following the October 3 and 4 Safari Sevens, teams from UK, Nigerian national team and top club sides from the west African nation.


  1. Darwin Mukidza
  2. Michael Agevi (Kenya 7s)
  3. Maxwell Theuri (Kenya 7s)
  4. Brian Omondi
  5. Kenny Andola
  6. Joseph Mawira
  7. Davis Chenge (Kenya 7s)
  8. Cyprian Kuto (Kenya 7s)
  9. Fabian Olando (Kenya 7s)
  10. Arthur Owira
  11. Younes Hou (France Development)
  12. Marko Gvozdenovic (Stade Francais, France Development)

-Technical bench-

  1. Thomas Burwell (Coach)
  2. Jean Jacque Rous (Team Manager)