Athletics Athletics

Kiplagat retains IAAF Council seat


DAEGU, South Korea, August 25- Athletics Kenya (AK) chairman, Isaiah Kiplagat, retained his seat on IAAF Council upon conclusion of the world governing body congress on Thursday.

Kiplagat, who was also gunning for the seat of one of the vice-presidents on Day 1 one of the Congress on Wednesday, garnered 107 votes to clinch one of the nine seats available on the Council which is the main decision body making organ of the IAAF.

AK secretary general, David Okeyo, was elected to head the IAAF Cross Country Commission after being elevated from his post as a Committee Member.

Compatriots Ibrahim Hussein, the AK assistant general secretary and Mary Chege, who sits on the federation’s national executive as the in charge of women affairs and Joseph Ochieng however, missed out on winning seats they were vying for in the IAAF committees.

According to the results released last night at the end of the 48th IAAF Congress, Hussein, who was eyeing a seat in the Technical Committee, narrowly missed out on one of the 12 seats available after polling 85 results in the first round of voting.

The single position reserved for second round of voting saw Hussein, the first black winner of the New York Marathon, scoop only 11 ballots to end his interest in the seat.

Chege, who is the chaperone of Team Kenya here in Daegu, also made a strong showing in the first round of polling for the eights seats on offer in the Women’s Committee with 87 votes, ten short of what would have seen her bag a place.

In the second round of voting, Chege could only attract 25 votes to end her running.

Ochieng, who became the first Kenyan to be named a judge at the Olympics was targeting a slot in the IAAF Race Walking Committee and garnered 49 votes in the first round out of the 194 valid ballots to miss one of the four positions on offer.

He is in Daegu, South Korea as one of the assistant coaches to Peter Mathu charged with preparing the country’s race walkers, David Kimutai and Africa record holder, Grace Wanjiru who will compete in the men and women 20km events.

The conclusion of the voting process ushers in the beginning of competition on Saturday with the newly elected team charged with running global athletics for the next four years.

-Mutwiri Mutuota is reporting for Capital FM from Daegu, South Korea




1st round (9 seats)

Total votes 198

Total Valid votes 188

Absolute majority 95

AL KAMALI Ahmad UAE 137 elected

FREDERICKS Frank NAM 122 elected

DIGEL Helmut GER 121 elected

JUANTORENA DANGER Alberto CUB 119 elected

PARK Jung Ki KOR 116 elected

TANAKA Katsuyuki JPN 116 elected

ODRIOZOLA Jose Maria ESP 108 elected

* KIPLAGAT Isaiah KEN 107 elected

AMSALEM Bernard FRA 103 elected



1st round (12 seats)

Total votes 197

Total Valid votes 184

Absolute majority 93

KATZ  David USA 131 elected

ABAD Gabriel ESP 127 elected

SEKI   Yukio JPN 125 elected

HARTZ Klaus GER 116 elected

VAUHKONEN Kari FIN 113 elected

DELACOUR  Pierre FRA 110 elected

ROE Brian AUS 106 elected

ZELICHENOK Vadim RUS 101 elected

SHEN Chunde CHN 100 elected

LITTLEWOOD David GBR 98 elected

BAYI Filbert TAN 93 elected

* HUSSEIN Ibrahim Kipkemboi KEN 85

2nd round (1 seat)

Total votes 190

Total Valid votes 183

Simple majority


* HUSSEIN Ibrahim Kipkemboi KEN 11



1st round (8 seats)

Total votes 198

Total Valid votes 192

Absolute majority 97

LEBEDEVA Tatyana RUS 125 elected

TIMMONS Anne E. USA 109 elected

FITTKO Esther GER 104 elected

LEE Young-Sun KOR 102 elected

COLON RUENES Maria Caridad CUB 100 elected

SZABO Gabriela ROU 97 elected

* CHEGE Mary I. KEN 87

2nd round (2 seats)

Total votes 191

Total Valid votes 185

Simple majority

TOUIBI Sarra TUN  71 elected

WOPHILL Maria NGR 60 elected

* CHEGE Mary I. KEN 25



2nd round (4 seats)

Total votes 199

Total Valid votes 194

Simple majority

AMARA Khaled TUN 80 elected

MARLOW Peter GBR 74 elected

IMAMURA Fumio JPN 68 elected

KORZENIOWSKI Robert POL 57 elected

* OCHIENG Joseph KEN 49



1st round (8 seats)

Total votes 199

Total Valid votes 193

Absolute majority 97

CARDOSO Carlos POR 123 elected

BEDFORD David GBR 120 elected

LANDA Luis Miguel ESP 112 elected

SAWAKI Keisuke JPN 111 elected

SERGENT Annette FRA 97 elected

2nd round (3 seats)

Total votes 191

Total Valid votes 190

Simple Majority

IBRAHIM Siddig SUD 72 elected

MAGNANI Massimo ITA 69 elected

AYIKORU Beatrice UGA 58 elected



1st round (8 seats)

Total votes 198

Total Valid votes 195

Absolute majority 98

MUROFUSHI Shigenobu JPN 136 elected

WANG Dawei CHN 135 elected

DANIELS Danny CAN 127 elected

HARVEY Rex USA  123 elected

MIGLIORINI Pierluigi ITA 123 elected

MARQUINA  Fernando ESP 120 elected

MARSHEV Vadim RUS 109 elected

Tie Break

Total votes 191

Total Valid votes 191

Simple Majority

ABBADI Mustafa SUD 97 elected