Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

The 2014 FIFA World Cup

Each German player to get Sh35.754m for win

GERMAN-CUP-BIGRIO de JANEIRO, July 14- Germany will be awarded $35 million (Sh3.044b) in prize money for winning the 2014 World Cup, while each player will get a $408,000 (Sh35.754m) bonus from their national football federation (DFB) for lifting the trophy.

Mario Gotze’s winning goal in extra time ensured coach Joachim Low’s side will earn the biggest share of the $576 million prize fund, up more than $150 million from the 2010 World Cup.

Spain earned $30 million of the $420 million pot for winning the tournament in South Africa four years ago.

Argentina will be paid $25 million for finishing as runners-up in 2014, while each of the 32 nations that reached the finals in Brazil have earned at least $8 million.

The fund includes payments to clubs worldwide and an insurance policy to cover injured players’ salaries.

Before the tournament, the DFB has promised all 23 players in the squad a bonus of 300,000 euros ($408,000) for winning the title, Germany’s fourth in World Cup history and the first to be won by a European side in the Americas.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved