Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


KRU awards make comeback

NAIROBI, Kenya, November 2- Kenya Cup champions Kenya Harlequins and Eric Shirley Shield winners Homeboyz RFC have been nominated in two categories of the Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) awards.Both teams have been put forward in the ‘Fifteens Team of the Year’ category alongside the national side that clinched both the Elgon and Victoria Cup earlier this year.

Quins has also been nominated in the ‘Sevens Team of the Year’ alongside Strathmore University and the national sevens team while Homeboyz have also been named in the ‘Spirit of Rugby’ award alongside the Mtaa Rugby Initiative and rugby legend Edward Rombo.

“The awards are making a comeback after a break. They epitomize the summit of our rugby season because it’s recognition of our young men, women and anybody else who is associated with rugby,” said the chairman of the awards selection committee Max Muniafu.

Rugby fans will get to award some of the nominees while special awards will be given to individuals for their sterling role they have played to promote the game countrywide.

“Nine of these awards will be voted for by the public, whereas there are some special awards which are going to be selected by a specific group of people,” said Muniafu.

The public will be able to vote on the KRU website starting from Wednesday and will close a week to the event.

“If you go to our website (, on the awards and gala dinner where all the names of the nominees will be posted. We will also engage and independent firm, preferably our auditor to verify the results,” said KRU general manager Auka Gacheo.

The last time the union held its awards was in 2003.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


XV Player of the Year – Innocent Simiyu, Peter Abuoga, Daniel Kiptoo
XV Team of the Year- Kenya Harlequins, Kenya XV, Homeboyz RFC
XV Coach of the Year- Edward Kinyany, Michael Otieno, Eric Situma
7s Coach of the Year- Mitch Ocholla, Charles Cardovillis, Paul Murunga
7s Team of the Year-Strathmore, Kenya Sevens, Kenya Harlequins
7s Player of the Year- Humphrey Kayange, Felix Ayange, Lavin Asego
Junior Player of the Year-Patrice Agunda, David Ambunya, Joel Omer
Women’s Personality of the Year- Celestine Navalayo, Sarah Otieno, Doreen Remour
Journalist of the Year- Ayumba Ayodi, Brian Mulavi, Celestine Karoney
Ref of the Year Award- Godwin Karuga, Constant Cap, Ray Oruo
Award for Distinguished service- Michael Otieno, Aggrey Chabeda, Judy Wanjira
Development Award- Eric Situma, John Kagagi, Malik Ndemi
Spirit of Rugby Award-Mtaa Rugby Initiative, Homeboyz Rugby, Edward Rombo
Emerging Ref of the Year Award   


Click to comment


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved