Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Cricket World Cup team of the tournament

England captain Eoin Morgan lifts the World Cup trophy © AFP / Glyn KIRK

LONDON, United Kingdom, Jul 15England won the World Cup for the first time after beating New Zealand in Sunday’s thrilling final at Lord’s, bringing the curtain down on a dramatic event featuring some superb individual performances.

AFP Sport names its team of the tournament:

Rohit Sharma (India)

The 32-year-old emerged as the tournament’s star batsman, making history by becoming the first player to hit five hundreds in a single World Cup — a scintillating run that included three successive centuries against England, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

England’s Jason Roy © AFP / Dibyangshu Sarkar

Sharma, the tournament’s leading scorer, totalled 648 runs, just short of Sachin Tendulkar’s World Cup record of 673 scored during the 2003 edition.

Jason Roy (England)

England did not look the same without their go-for-broke opener when he was missing for three matches after suffering a torn hamstring.

Australia’s David Warner © AFP/File / Paul ELLIS

With Roy, who scored 443 runs at an average of 63.28, restored to the line-up, England’s confidence was back and, with it, the aggressive style that has served them so well over the past four years.

David Warner (Australia)

Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan © AFP/File / Dibyangshu Sarkar

Warner is one of only four Australians to pass the 500-run mark at a single World Cup, joining Matthew Hayden and Ricky Ponting, who both made their runs at the 2007 event, and his 2019 captain Aaron Finch.

The 32-year-old finished with 647 runs and registered the highest individual score in this year’s World Cup when he made 166 against Bangladesh — his prolific form at least partially healing his reputation after returning from suspension following last year’s ball-tampering scandal.

Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson © AFP / Paul ELLIS

Showing why he is ranked as the world’s top all-rounder in ODIs, Shakib made the most of his promotion to the number three position, accumulating 606 runs and also picking up 11 wickets.

Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

The unflappable Black Caps batsman scored 578 runs in the tournament — the most by a captain in a World Cup, going past Mahela Jayawardene’s mark of 548 in 2007.

He was named man of the tournament, but that will not erase the heartache of his team’s defeat in the final.

Ben Stokes (England)

England’s Ben Stokes © AFP / Paul ELLIS

Man of the match in the final with an unbeaten 84, Stokes was the ninth-highest run scorer in the tournament despite coming in at five in the batting order, with 465 runs.

Stokes also proved handy with the ball, taking seven wickets, and produced one of the catches of the tournament in the opening game to dismiss South Africa’s Andile Phehlukwayo.

Alex Carey (Australia)

Australia’s Alex Carey © AFP / Dibyangshu Sarkar

Confident with the gloves and capable of explosive hitting, the 27-year-old Carey was the tournament’s most eye-catching wicketkeeper-batsman and by the semi-final he had been promoted to number five in the batting order as a reward for his composed displays.

Mitchell Starc (Australia)

Australia paceman Mitchell Starc © AFP / Dibyangshu Sarkar

Mitchell Starc finished as the tournament’s leading wicket taker with 27, in the process setting a new record for most wickets at a single World Cup.

The lethal left-arm quick’s haul broke the previous record of 26 held by retired Australia paceman Glenn McGrath.

Jofra Archer (England)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Jofra Archer has added a new dimension to England’s attack at the World Cup © AFP/File / Paul ELLIS

Barbados-born paceman Archer took 20 wickets to underline why England were so keen to rush him into the squad.

His fiery spells were crucial to England’s victory — no-one took more wickets for the champions — and fittingly he bowled the Super Over that sealed the trophy in a final to remember.

Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand)

New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson © AFP / Glyn KIRK

Ferguson’s 3-50 in the final made him the second-highest wicket taker in the tournament with 21 in just nine games at an impressive average of 19.47

It meant he outshone his more celebrated team-mate Trent Boult, who finished with 17 wickets.

Jasprit Bumrah (India)

With his awkward bowling action, Bumrah will never earn many style points, but the paceman makes up for that with a potent combination of speed and accuracy that helped him top the India charts with 18 wickets.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved