Kennedy Kalonzo, Oburu and Mbugua elected to EALA

December 15, 2017 8:13 am
The nine are expected to be sworn-in on Monday at the Arusha-based regional assembly/FILE

, NAIROBI, Kenya Dec 15 – Former Vice-President Kalonzo Musyoka’s son Kennedy Musyoka, NASA leader Raila Odinga’s brother Oburu Oginga, former Kamukunji MP Simon Mbugua are among nine Kenyans who have been elected to represent Kenya in East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Others include former Tigania East MP Mpuri Aburi, former Wajir County Woman Representative Fatuma Ibrahim, former Balambala MP Aden Abdikadir, former Mandera North MP Adan Nooru, former Nyandarua County Woman Representative Wanjiku Muhia and Flowrence Jematiah Sergon.

The nine are expected to be sworn-in on Monday at the Arusha-based regional Assembly.

Upon the final tally announced by House Speakers Justin Muturi and Ken Lusaka – who served as the returning officers of the exercise – Kalonzo emerged with 309 votes followed by Mbugua 286 votes.

Sergon got 252 votes, Mpuri 308 votes, Nooru 192 votes, Wanjiku 180 votes. Oburu got 243 votes, Abdikadir garnered 235 votes while Ibrahim got 142 votes respectively.

The nine are expected to be sworn-in on Monday at the Arusha-based regional assembly.

The execise which conducted simultaneously in both the Senate and the National Assembly began during tuesday afternoon run well into the night as House Clerks took turns in presiding over the counting of votes in the National Assembly which comprises of 349 legislators.

The Senate with 67 legislators concluded their exercise before 7pm and transmitted the results to the lower House.

MPs were treated a spectacle of its kind as the Senate Chief Sergent at Arms delivered the results but had to wait at the entry of the Chamber before he was asked by Speaker Muturi to introduce himself.

National Assembly Clerk Micheal Sialai had alerted the Speaker of the presence of a stranger at the doors of the House.

In a well choreographed routine; the Mace was put back in its place (to signify the House Sitting is in session) the Speaker then halted the counting of votes and instructed the National Assembly Cheif Sergent At Arms to proceed to retrieve the message for his opposite number from the Senate. Once this was done the Senate Sergent at Arms who was escorted by two of his officers marched out of the lower House Debating Chamber.

The results of the Senate’s tally were received by Sialai for authentication.

The Speaker ordered for the vote count to resume as the Mace was lowered once again and covered (to signal that the Sitting has been temporarily suspended).

Kennedy topped in the Senate election with 55 votes from 61 Senators who cast their vote.

Mbugua who conducted a vigorous campaign garnered 51 votes while Oginga who garnered 48 votes.

Jubilee’s other four nominees who were elected in Senate include: Florence Jematiah (Baringo) who got 50 votes, former MP Mpuri Aburi (Tigania East) garnered 40 votes, former Constitution and Implementation Commission Chairperson Charles Nyacahe got 37 votes and finally the former Mandera North MP Adan Mohammed Nooru closed the list with 30 votes.

On the NASA’s side, the second on the list was former Prime Minister Raila Odinga’s elder brother Oburu Oginga who garnered 48 votes followed by former Balambala MP Abdikadir Aden with 32 votes and former Wajir Woman Representative Fatuma Ibrahim who got 29 votes.

former Commission on Implementation of the Constitution Chairman Charles Nyachae


Latest Articles

News Podcasts