Are they equal to the job? They would like to manage your vote

November 10, 2016 1:19 pm
The Selection Panel is currently engaged in the process of sifting through the applications/FILE
The Selection Panel is currently engaged in the process of sifting through the applications/FILE

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Nov 11 – High Court Judge Anyara Emukule, Devolution expert Dr. Mutakha Kangu, Judges and Magistrates Vetting Board member Roseline Odhiambo Odede, former Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Commissioner Margaret Wambui Shava are among 13 recognisable applicants seeking to replace Issack Hassan as the Chairperson of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

Others applicants include Joshua Kamwere who has over 10 years’ experience in senior management positions in Finance and Accounting, Internal audit, Human Resource Management and Administration, Kajiado County Public Service Board chairman John Tentemo Ole Moyaki and Murshid Abdalla Mohamed who had unsuccessfully been interviewed for the post in 2011.

Advocates David Mukii Mureke, David Malukwen, Vihiga Constituency Parliamentary aspirant Musoma Arthur Munubi and Kenyatta University Students Association Presidential hopeful Vincent Opar make up the list published the IEBC Selection Panel.

Among those listed for the post of the commissioners include IEBC Director for Voter Registration and Electoral Immaculate Kassait, Transparency International-Kenya Executive Director Samuel Kimeu, former Independent Policing Oversight Authority board member Tom Kagwe, radio journalist and Kajiado County Government Media Relations Officer Lilian Lelei, lawyer Soyinka Lempaa, and Human Right Activist Cyprian Nyamwamu.

Others include Commissioner of Insurance Sammy Makove, former Industralisation Principal Secretary Wilson Songa, former Devolution Secretary Ambassador Phillip Owade, Kenya’s former Ambassador to Russia Paul Kibiwott Kurgat, former Permanent Representative of Kenya to the United Nations Office in Geneva and the World Trade Organization Ambassador John O. Kakonga, Chairman, National Council of Churches of Kenya (NCCK) Program Committe Rev. Dr Julius Karanja and former National Anti-Corruption Steering Committee Director Polycarp Omolo Ochilo, defunct Commission for the Implementation of the Constitution Commissioner Philemon Mwaisaka Wawaka

The Selection Panel Chairperson Bernadette Musundi said that they will publish the names of the shortlisted candidates in the Kenya Gazette, two newspapers of national circulation and at the Parliamentary Service Commission website once they have completed scrutiny of the applications.

According to the Panel, qualifications for the member of the commission position include sufficient knowledge in governance, electoral matters, finance and law; besides holding a degree from a recognised university.

The Chairperson and members of the electoral body will serve for a single term of six years.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed