Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Stima’s Muguna named KPL player of the year

Western Stima's Kenneth 'Junior' Mugambi wins the player of the year award. PHOTO/Timothy Olobulu

Western Stima’s Kenneth ‘Junior’ Mugambi wins the player of the year award. PHOTO/Timothy Olobulu

NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 13- Western Stima’s youthful prodigy Kenneth ‘Junior’ Muguna was the toast of the night garnering two awards, the top most Player of the Year gong and the midfielder of the year award as the Kenyan premier League awarded its best performers of the 2016 season.

In his debut in the top tier league, the 20-year old Muguna surprised both friend and foe in a scintillating year with his artistry and talent in midfield setting him apart from the crowd.

Muguna, named the KPL player of the month for August beat off stiff competition from golden boot winner John Mark Makwatta whose 15 goals propelled Ulinzi Stars to a third place finish as well as Tusker FC shot stopper David Okello.

In the midfielder of the year category, Muguna once again topped the bill as he squeezed through a list packed with talent, toppling the experienced Humphrey Mieno who finished third while Mathare United’s Whyvonne ‘Walcott’ Isuza managed to buffer in between the young and the old.

The Western Stima man ensured a few more digits will be added onto his cheque from the night as he finished second in the new young player of the year category, behind Gor Mahia’s emmerging left back Erick ‘Marcelo’ Ouma and ahead of Posta Rangers’ Cavin Odongo.

The Kisumu bred midfielder pocketed a total of Sh1.6million from the three gongs in addition to two 43 inch television sets and a mobile phone from South Korean manufacturers LG Electronics.

“I want to thank everyone who voted in for me. This is such a big day for me. I want to thank the Western Stima management, players and coaches for helping me get here. It has not been my effort alone,” an emotional Muguna said as he picked his big award.

Patrick Matasi’s clean sheets this season with Posta Rangers propelled him atop all his competitors to pick the golden glove award ahead of last year’s winner Boniface Oluoch and Tusker’s Okello

Posta’s defensive solidity was evident as they not only scopped the golden glove award, but their skipper Jockins Atudo went on to win the defender of the year award ahead of Gor Mahia skipper Musa Mohammed who also finished second last season.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The experienced feet of Noah Abich finished third with his contribution to Sofapaka’s miraculous escape from relegation propelling him high despite playing for only the second leg.

Tusker’s league winning coach Paul Nkata was the undoubted winner for the coach of the year category, coming into the side to propel the brewers to their first title in three years despite not being given much of a chance when he arrived from Muhoroni Youth in january.

“I want to say a big thank you to the man who brought me here. (George Owoko) what next I don’t know. I thank my technical bench and the players who were committed because they made me become coach of the year,” Nkata said as he received his award.

Gor Mahia’s Brazilian tactician Jose Marcelo Ferreira was second while Francis Baraza who propelled Chemelil Sugar to their highest ever Premier League finish was named third.

All winners of the twelve categories went home with a 43 inch LG television set while runners up won LG G10 phones. Third placed finishers were awarded microwaves in addition to the various cash prizes as the awards stature improved for the second year running.

Most Valuable Player

1.Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)

2.John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars)

3.David Okelo (Tusker)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Golden Glove

1.Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)

2.Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)

3.David Okelo (Tusker)


1.Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers)

2.Musa Mohamed (Gor Mahia)

3.Noah Abich (Sofapaka)


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
  1. Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
  2. Whyvonne Isuza (Mathare United)
  3. Humphrey Mieno (Tusker)

Fairplay Player

  1. Ali Bai (Kakamega Homeboyz0
  2. Jared Obwoge (Chemelil)
  3. Amos Asembeka (Sony Sugar)

New Player

  1. Eric Ouma (Gor Mahia)
  2. Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
  3. Cavin Odongo (Posta Rangers)

Coach of the year

  1. Paul Nkata (Tusker)
  2. Marcelo Ferreira (Gor Mahia)
  3. Francis Baraza (Chemelil Sugar)

Golden Boot

1.John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars)

2.Kepha Aswani (AFC Leopards)

3.Wycliffe Ochomo (Muhoroni Youth)

Team manager of the year

1.George Opndo (Tusker)

2.David Mwangi (Ulinzi Stars)

3.Pascal Ochieng (Posta Rangers)

Fairplay Team

1.Kakamega Homeboyz

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

2.Mathare United

3.Western Stima

Assistant Referee of the year

1.Gilbert Cheruiyot

2.Stephen Oduor

3.Mary Ann Njoroge

Referee of the year

1.Anthony Ogwayo

2.Davies Omweno

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

3.Badr Yassin

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Jun 28 – Three Kenyans have become overnight multi-millionaires after winning the Odibets Euro EuroJackpot that was launched a few weeks back....

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved