Nyambati celebrates yet another poll win

November 29, 2011 6:48 am

, KISII, Nov 29 – Kitutu Masaba MP-elect Walter Nyambati is celebrating after recapturing the seat he lost in August after a court nullified his 2007 election as area lawmaker, over irregularities.

Nyambati garnered 11,045 votes followed by Timothy Bosire of ODM who managed 8,940 while Shadrack Mose of Kenya National Congress got 7,708 votes in Monday’s by-election.

Nyambati who was beaming with joy thanked the people of Kitutu Masaba for having trust in him.

He said his leadership credentials for the last four years was testimony to his people that he is a trusted leader.

“Courts cannot determine a leader but the people can,” declared Nyambati.

In his acceptance speech, Nyambati said that he had been confident that he would recapture the seat ‘the court robbed him unfairly.’

The lawmaker told his supporters that his major cause of action is to drive the development agenda for the constituency that took a lull during the nullification of his election.

He said the constituency has lagged behind in national development occasioned by the nullification of his 2007 election.

“I must ensure that Kitutu Masaba catches up with the rest of the country in terms of development. There will be no more lazing around,” he said.

He termed the by-election free and fair devoid of violence from his PNU party supporters.

“My supporters were very peaceful during the campaigns and even at the voting time. Violence was meted on my people by other parties’ supporters,” he said.

Nyambati told his supporters – who broke into dance and song as the Returning Officer Fredrick Odenge declared him the winner of the by-election – that he will not let down the people of Kitutu Masaba.

“This is a very important honour my people are bestowing upon me, and I will not let you down but to fulfill my promises,” he declared.

Nyambati had to wade through a host of other candidates to emerge the winner in a hotly contested by-election.

The election attracted 15 candidates; with a total of 37,516 votes cast and voter turnout pegged at 54.71 percent.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed