Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


New winners in Mombasa marathon

MOMBASA, Kenya, May 17 – Last year's bronze medallist in the 42km German marathon, Amos Kipruto, cruised to victory on Sunday to win the Mombasa International Marathon.MARATHONThe marathon, run under chilly weather, saw Kipruto sneak from a group of six pace setters after 30km and never left looked back to be the one to break through the finish-tape.

He timed two hours 13 minutes and 44 seconds to win the race.

Kipruto of Afro Athletics Club in Kapsabet said that he kept running when he broke from the pace setter from 30km and remained on the driving seat to the finish.

Winners of the 42km stretch received Sh50,000 while the winners of 10km got Sh10,000.

The second slot went to the immediate former champion Peter Mutua of Machakos Athletics Club.

Mutua came in second place with a time of 2:17.02. Kipruto was more energetic after covering 30km and he deserved to win the marathon, said Mutua, who however vowed to reclaim the title next year.

Peter Njoroge, who entered as individual, timed 2:18.22 for the third slot.

In the women’s 42km competition, Lelly Jeptoo of Spira Athletics Club of Kapsabet was the winner with a time of 2:54.38 seconds.

“The race was challenging but I thank God for having guided me from the start to the finish,” said Jeptoo after completing the race.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Rebecca Tallam (individual) was third after clocking 2:54.53, while Sylvia Jemeli (individual) was third with a time of 2:57.20 seconds.

In the men’s 10km race, Salim Saiti (individual) won after clocking 33.32.04 while Kenneth Kipkemboi (individual) and Isack Gichuhi (individual) timed 33.42.01 and 33.57.45 for the second and third slots respectively.

In the women’s 10km contest, Miriam Musengya of Mashambani Athletics Club of Ngong won with a time of 41.04.14. Usila Koech (individual) timed 43.26.82 for the second position, while Cecilia Warutuno of Kenya Methodist University settled for the third slot with a time of 44.41.79.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 27 – DStv and GOtv subscribers are in for a treat of the world’s best football this week as the 2020-21...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 6 – Gentrix Shikangwa scored with two minutes left as Vihiga Queens sailed to the final of the CECAFA regional qualifiers...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved