Omogeni among nominees for anti-graft agency

November 10, 2011 3:12 pm


Lawyer Okongo Omogeni/FILE
NAIROBI, Kenya, Nov 10 – Lawyer Okong’o Omogeni, Mumo Matemu and Sarah M Kilemi have been recommended for appointment as chairperson of the Ethics and Anti corruption Commission.

According to a statement from the selection panel, former Kenya Anti Corruption Commission (KACC) Deputy Director Jane Onsongo, Ochillo Polycarp Omollo, Robert Francis Shaw and Irene Cheptoo Keino have also been listed for consideration as members of the commission.

The names have been forwarded to the President and Prime Minister for approval.

The Ethics and Anti Corruption Commission which will replace KACC shall consist of a chairperson and six members.

The selection panel received 21 applications for the position of chairman while another 164 applications were received for the position of member.

Interviews for candidates were conducted between the November 8 and 9.

Immediate former Kenya Anti Corruption Commission (KACC) director PLO Lumumba, his Deputy Director Jane Onsongo, together with Directors Pravin Bowry and John Mutonyi resigned from the commission after the Advisory Board disbanded the commission following the passage of the Ethics and Anti Corruption Commission (EACC) Act.

The new commission will enforce the Anti Corruption and Economic Crimes Act and other present and future statutes that have some anti-corruption and economic crimes related provisions.

During debate and subsequent passage of the Ethics and Anti corruption Commission Act in August, MPs were vocal against Prof Patrick Lumumba, accusing him of failing in his duties.

The former anti graft czar had launched a number of probes on current Members of Parliament.

Under his leadership KACC opened investigations against Water Minister Charity Ngilu, suspended Industrialization Minister Henry Kosgey, Education Minister Sam Ongeri and Runyenjes MP Cecily Mbarire among others.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed