Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Guardiola,Coleman,Ranieri on FIFA shortlist

Claudio Ranieri, Chris Coleman and Pep Guardiola are named on a 10-man shortlist for FIFA men's coach of the year. PHOTO/SKY.

Claudio Ranieri, Chris Coleman and Pep Guardiola are named on a 10-man shortlist for FIFA men’s coach of the year. PHOTO/SKY.

LONDON, United Kingdom, Nov 2 – Chris Coleman, Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp, Mauricio Pochettino and Claudio Ranieri have been named on a 10-man shortlist for FIFA men’s coach of the year.

Zinedine Zidane, who led Real Madrid to the Champions League title, is also among the contenders along with Diego Simeone of Atletico Madrid, Fernando Santos who guided Portugal to the European Championship – Barcelona’s Luis Enrique and France boss Didier Deschamps.

Coleman was nominated for taking highly unfancied Wales to the semi-finals of Euro 2016 after qualifying for their first major championships since 1958.

Ranieri led Leicester to the Premier League crown in one of football’s greatest fairy-tales, seeing off Pochettino’s much-improved Spurs.

Klopp guided Liverpool to the Europa League final and League Cup final and re-invigorated the club following his arrival from Borussia Dortmund. Guardiola’s Bayern Munich won the Bundesliga by 10 points plus the German Cup, before he moved to Manchester City.

The winner will be chosen through a combined voting process, in which 50 per cent of the decision will be based on the choices of all captains and head coaches of national teams around the globe.

The remaining votes will be split between the result of an online public ballot with football fans and submissions from a selected group of over 200 media representatives from the six continents.

FIFA will announce a three-man shortlist on December 2.

Candidates: Chris Coleman (Wales), Didier Deschamps (France), Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich, Manchester City), Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Luis Enrique (Barcelona), Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham), Claudio Ranieri (Leicester), Fernando Santos (Portugal), Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid), Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid).

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved