Murithi replaces Kimaru as Traffic Commandant

March 20, 2014 6:55 am


The changes are seen as measures Inspector General David Kimaiyo is putting in place to stem rising crime, and the re-emergence of road carnage/FILE
The changes are seen as measures Inspector General David Kimaiyo is putting in place to stem rising crime, and the re-emergence of road carnage/FILE
NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 20 – Charlton Murithi Muriuki who once served as the Director of Personnel at Police Headquarters has been named the new Traffic Commandant, replacing Samuel Kimaru in changes affecting 55 officers countrywide.

Kimaru has been sent to Police Headquarters for further re-deployment, in the changes announced on Thursday morning.

The Rift Valley Regional Coordinator Joel Mboya Kitili has been appointed the GSU Commandant while William Siaya who initially headed the unit has been re-deployed to head the National Focal Point on Small Arms.

Boniface Nzioki Maingi who was the Deputy GSU Commandant has been appointed the Chief Licensing Officer.

“The joint service board in meeting held on 18th March 2014 approved the deployment of the following officers (list published below) with immediate effect,” a statement by the Deputy Inspector General of Kenya Police, Grace Kaindi, indicated.

John Patrick Owino who has been heading the small arms unit is the new commandant of the Police Airwing replacing Rodgers Mbithi.

The changes are seen as measures Inspector General David Kimaiyo is putting in place to stem rising crime, and the re-emergence of road carnage.

Several divisional police chiefs (OCPDs) were also moved in the changes, among them Patrick Oduma of Nairobi Central Police Division who has been transferred to Matuga in Kwale.

The new Central OCPD is Fredrick Muthama.

The full changes:

1. Mr William Saiya Atswenje, S/DCP 1 from Commandant GSU to Director Kenya National Focal Point on Small Arms and Light Weapons.

2. Mr John Patrick Owino Ochieng, S/DCP 1 from Director Kenya National Focal Point on Small Arms and Light Weapons to Commandant National Police Airwing.

3. Mr Joel Mboya Kitili, DCP from Regional Coordinator Rift valley to be the Commandant GSU.

4. Mr Boniface Nzioki Maingi, DCP from Deputy Commandant GSU to be the Chief Licensing Officer.

5. Mr Francis Mwangi Wanjohi, DCP from CFB to P/Hqrs for deployment.

6. Mr Charlton Murithi Muriuki, DCP from P/Hqrs to be the Commandant Traffic.

7. Mr Abdi Hapi, S/ACP from D/CFB to P/Hqrs for deployment.

8. Mr Samwel Kimaru Cheserem, S/ACP from the Commandant Traffic to P/Hqrs for deployment.

9. Mr James Ikumbi Ngului, S/ACP from Deputy Director Complaints to Deputy Director Kenya National Focal Point on Small Arms and Light Weapons.

10. Mr Joseph D. Kodi, ACP from GSU Training School OC Junior Training Wing to GSU Hqs.

11. Mr Philip Ochola Opiyo, SSP from OCPD Marakwet West to OCPD Makueni.

12. Mr Lawrence Mwaura Njoroge, SSP from OCPD Turkana Central (Lodwar) to CID Training School as the Chief Instructor.

13. Mr Patterson Maelo Nyongesa, SSP from OCPD Narok North to OCPD Manga.

14. Mr Paul Kipchumba Letting, SSP from OCPD Thika West to OCPD Narok North.

15. Mr Shedrack Mutwetumo Maithya, SSP from OCPD Nyamira to OCPD Thika West.

16. Mr Christopher Mshimba, SSP from OCPD Murang’a North to P/Hqrs Community Policing, Gender and Child Protection.

17. Mr Johnstone L. Toroitich, SSP from Staff Officer Complaints P/Hqrs to OCPD Murang’a North.

18. Mr Richard Muguai Mwangi, SSP from OCPD Matuga(Kwale) to OCPD Gucha.

19. Mr Osborn Mwawaza Jombo, SSP from P/Hqrs (SO) Community Policing, Gender and Child Protection to D/OC TPU.

20. Mr Ngare Riko Ngare, SSP from D/OC. TPU to OCPD Nyamira.

21. Mr Joseph Mwaniki Ireri, SSP from OCPD Keiyo to OCPD East Pokot.

22. Mr Sylvester M. Githungo, SSP from OCPD Imenti Central to OCPD Galole (Tana River).

23. Mr Boniface Bukhala Lisiolo, SSP from OCPD Mandera Central to OCPD Imenti Central.

24. Mr Fredrick Odhiambo Ochieng, SSP from OCPD East Pokot to OCPD Keiyo.

25. Mr Mathews O. Mangira, SSP from OCPD Turkana East(Lokichar) to OCPD Marakwet West.

26. Mr John Osongo Ngare, SSP from OCPD Buuri to OCPD Pokot Central.

27. Mr Timothy Makau Kivuva, SSP from OCPD Eldoret Airport to Deputy County Commander Embu.

28. Mr Nicholas Jairus Musilu, SSP from OCPD Pokot Central to OCPD Buuri.

29. Mr Michael Muchiri Nyaga, SSP from OCPD Loima to Deputy County Commander Marsabit.

30. Mr Ranson Lolmodon, SSP from OCPD Manga to OCPD Githunguri.

31. Mr Rashid Hulbale Mohammed, SSP from OCPD Mathira East to OCPD Dagoretti.

32. Mr Joseph Munyao Kavoo, SSP from OCPD Galole (Tana River) to OCPD KAPU Airport Eldoret.

33. Mr Gwiyo Juda Mathews, SSP from OCPD Dagoretti to OCPD Mathira East.

34. Mr Jonathan K. Ngala, SSP from OCPD Turkana West (Kakuma) to OCPD Sotik.

35. M/s Wilkister Vera Nyaiyo, SSP from OCPD Githunguri to P/Hqrs Community Policing, Gender and Child Protection.

36. Mr Patrick Oduma Otsiemo, SSP from OCPD Central Nairobi to OCPD Matuga (Kwale).

37. Mr Apollo Wanyonyi, SSP from OCPD Kirinyaga South to OCPD Embakasi.

38. Mr Titus Kyengo Yoma, SSP from OCPD Langata to OCPD Kirinyaga South.

39. Mr Christopher Akello Odhiambo, SSP from OCPD Embakasi to P/Hqrs SO(Inspections).

40. Mr Charles K. Keitany, SSP from Traffic OC HPU to be OC Junior Training Wing -GSU Training School.

41. Mr Richard Kiprotich Ngetich, SSP from OCPD Gucha to OCPD Kakamega Central.

42. Mr Joshua Kinyamal Ole Leina, SSP from OCPD Makueni to Deputy County Commander Machakos County.

43. Mr Henry Kiambi M’ itunga, SSP from OCPD Sotik to Deputy County Commander Tana River County.

44. Mr Elijah Mwangi Maina, SSP from OCPD Marakwet East to OCPD Langata.

45. Mr Fredrick Muthama Lai, SSP from OCPD Kakamega Central to be OCPD Central (Nairobi County).

46. Mr Jack N. Ekakoro, SP from Police Headquarters (Operations) to D/C.O GSU Headquarters Sub Unit.

47. Mr Evans Kisiangani Wanyonyi, SP from D/OCPD Dagoretti to Police Headquarters (Operations).

48. Mr Benjamin Kioko Nyamai, SP from D/OCPD Buruburu to OCPD Loima.

49. Mr Julius Musyoka Kyumbule, SP from D/OCPD Central (Nairobi County) to OCPD Marakwet East.

50. Mr David Nyabuto Ogetii, SP from D/OCPD Turkana West (Kakuma) to OCPD Turkana West (Kakuma).

51. Mr Joel Kirui, SP from D/OCPD Nyando to OCPD Turkana Central (Lodwar).

52. Mr Peter Okiring, SP from D/OCPD Ndhiwa to OCPD Mandera Central.

53. Mr Martin Asin, SP from P/Hqrs Personnel Directorate (SOP 5) to D/OCPD Central (Nairobi County).

54. Mr Nichodemus Ochola, SP from SOB Kigumo to D/OCPD Buruburu(Nairobi County).

55. M/s Elizabeth Chebet, Ag.SP from SOB Kirinyaga Central to D/OCPD Nyando.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed