Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


CCK named African regulator of the year

CAPE TOWN, Oct 24- The Communications Commission of Kenya (CCK) is this year’s winner of the African Infrastructure Regulator of the Year Award.

CCK was declared the winner by the investment communications group, Africa Investor in Cape Town, South Africa, at a ceremony attended by venture capitalists, developers, and infrastructure experts and policy makers. 

 “We are delighted with the award, which goes to show that our efforts to promote an excellent and stable investment climate in communications industry in the country are being noted as progressive and exceptional”, said CCK Director General Charles Njoroge of the award.

He attributed the recognition to their policy of having consultations before making any major decision that affects the industry. 

Mr Njoroge called on investors in the Information and Communications Technology industry to take advantage of the stable regulatory climate and improved infrastructure to set up businesses in the country.

“The country’s broadband infrastructure offers investors tremendous opportunities for their businesses and we expect to see more investments in all facets of the economy that will be driven by the available reliable connectivity,” he said.

CCK won the award for its role in seeking to develop regulations that are aimed at alleviating poverty and improving the investment climate in partnership with the private sector.

 “Through infrastructure investment, the private sector operating in Africa has established itself as a critical development partner,” said Africa Investor’s Vice Chairman Hubert Danso while presenting the award.

CCK beat its counterparts in Nigeria (Nigeria Communications Commission -NCC) and South Africa (Independent Communications Authority of South Africa -ICASA) that had also been short listed for the award.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Other award category winners included Africa Development Bank as the Sponsor of the Year Award, and the Industrial Development Corporation, which won the award in the Developer of the Year category.

The Power Deal of the Year award went to Exxaro, while Nedbank Capital took Transport Deal of the Year Award, and Rand Merchant Bank led the way with Social Infrastructure Deal of the Year.

Click to comment

More on Capital Business

Executive Lifestyle

NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 12 – The country’s super wealthy individuals are increasing their holding of bonds, gold and cash, a new report by Knight...

Ask Kirubi

NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 9 – Businessman and industrialist Dr. Chris Kirubi has urged members of the public to exercise extreme caution when making any...

Ask Kirubi

NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 24 – Businessman and industrialist Dr. Chris Kirubi is set to own half of Centum Investment Company PLC, following a go-ahead...

Ask Kirubi

It is without a doubt that the COVID-19 pandemic has caught the whole world by surprise. Although its full impact is yet to be...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Jun17 – Kenya’s tea leaves manufacturer Kericho Gold, has been awarded the Superbrands Seal by Superbrands East Africa for their quality variety...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 18 – Commercial Banks have been ordered to provide relief to borrowers on their personal loans, with loans eligible from March...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Apr 13 – As the local telecommunications industry gears up to roll out 5G networks in the country, the Communications Authority of...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 22 – Airtel Kenya is offering free internet access for students in order to enable continued learning at home in the...