Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


CS Koskei told to relax, he’ll know why he is a wanted man

Koseki appeared before the EACC on Monday in the company of five lawyers.

Koseki appeared before the EACC on Monday in the company of five lawyers.

NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 30 – Suspended Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Felix Koskei on Monday started his 60-day mission to clear his name by going to the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) to enquire about the allegations levelled against him.

Koskei who was accompanied by five lawyers met with the Director of Investigations at Integrity Centre who asked him to report back on Thursday.

A cheerful Koskei who addressed reporters after his short session with EACC detectives said he will possibly record a statement on Thursday after being informed why his name has been included in the graft list of shame.

“They will reveal to me the allegations on Thursday,” he stated. “From today onwards I will be in hands of EACC, my lawyers and also the Parliament,” he said.

He maintained he had no idea why his name featured in the EACC report presented to Parliament by President Uhuru Kenyatta during the State of the Nation address last week.

“I still don’t know but I also don’t want to speculate,” he said.

In a letter to the Chief Executive Officer of EACC, Koskei through his lawyers has sought a written confirmation of the nature of allegations, the list of his accusers, any statement by the complainants and supporting documents on the matter.

One of the lawyers Francis Njanja says they are set to defend their client who has since declared his innocence.

“Basically what they (EACC) are saying is that they have nothing ready for him and we have to wait until Thursday,” he said.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

On Saturday, Koskei became the first CS to step aside following the directive by President Kenyatta.

The Agriculture CS said he was stepping aside to pave way for an independent investigation into allegations of corruption that was contained in a list that was forwarded to President Kenyatta by the EACC.

“In light of the allegation levelled against me, I am stepping aside for 60 days to pave way for independent investigations,” said Koskei, during a briefing in his office.

READ: Agriculture CS Koskei first to step aside after Uhuru’s directive

Five Cabinet Secretaries and six Principal Secretaries are among public officers that President Kenyatta directed to step aside to allow for investigations into corruption allegations levelled against them.

The Cabinet Secretaries include Lands Cabinet Secretary Charity Ngilu, Koskei and Transport CS Engineer Michael Kamau.

Energy CS Davies Chirchir and his counterpart Labour Secretary Kazungu Kambi are also in the list.

Other high ranking members of the Executive called upon to step aside include Secretary to the Cabinet Francis Kimemia and Defence Principal Secretary Mutea Iringo.

Deputy President William Ruto’s Chief of Staff Marianne Kitany, who was adversely mentioned in the infamous ‘Hustler’s’ Jet probe, is also among them.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Ambassador Chirau Mwakwere and the Chief Executive Officers of the Kenya Pipeline Corporation, National Social Security Fund and the Geo-thermal Development Corporation are included in those in the Executive Arm of Government called upon to step aside.

Twelve governors are included in the list President Kenyatta presented to Parliament on Thursday as those under investigation by the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission.

They include Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero, Alfred Mutua (Machakos), Ali Hassan Joho (Mombasa), Peter Munya (Meru), Cyprian Awiti (Homa Bay) and Isaac Ruto (Bomet).

Other governors are Ukur Yattani (Marsabit), Godana Doyo (Isiolo) and Amason Kingi (Kilifi).

Parliamentarians on the list include Machakos Senator Johnson Muthama, Siaya Senator James Orengo, Nandi Hills MP Alfred Keter, Mt Elgon MP John Serut, Kitutu Chache MP Richard Onyonka and the members of the Agriculture and Public Accounts Committees of the National Assembly.

There are a total of 175 names which were forwarded to the Speakers of Parliament by President Kenyatta on Thursday during his second State of the Nation address.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Corona Virus Data


Last Updated: 5 mins ago

Confirmed Cases


New Cases


Total Deaths


New Deaths


Total Recovered


Active Cases


in Critical



More on Capital News