Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

The World Bank said the construction of the road to Mandera will ease movement of people and goods from Isiolo.

Capital Health

Govt locks down Mandera after surge in virus cases

NAIROBI, Kenya, April 22 – Mandera County Wednesday joined the list of devolved units placed under a containment order after Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiangi declared the cessation of movement into and out of the north east county following an increase in community infections.

Mandera now joins Nairobi, Mombasa, Kwale and Kilifi all placed under containment to avert the spread of coronavirus on the recommendation of the Ministry of Health.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiangi on Wednesday said this is a result of “increased community- based virus infections”.

“There will be cessation of movement by air and road INTO and OUT OF Mandera County for an initial period of 21 days, commencing 7pm today,” Matiangi said.

Matiangi further said the National Command Centre on the Corona virus pandemic, will review the implementation of public health measures in the Nairobi Metropolitan Area and counties of Mombasa and Kilifi.

Health Cabinet Secretary, Mutahi Kagwe told journalists during a news conference on COVID-19, the cessation of movement into and out of Mandera is aimed at containing the spread of coronavirus after the county recorded 8 cases.

Mandera is among counties targeted for mass testing.

Other areas also targeted include Nairobi, Siaya and Mombasa.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The county confirmed their two first cases on April 7 and put into quarantine more than 10 people who had come into contact with the confirmed cases.

Mandera is also reported to be the first place where people escaped from quarantine.

The Ministry of Health has raised concerns that the virus is increasingly moving to counties.

In terms of county distribution, as at April 20, Nairobi was leading with number of cases at 122, Mombasa (55) Kilifi (10), Kiambu (7), Machakos (7), Nakuru (5), Kajiado (3), Homabay (2), Kakamega (2),Kitui (2), Laikipia (2), Murang’a (2), Nyandarua (2), Siaya (2), Uasin Gishu (2), Kisii (1), Kwale (1), Nyamira (1), Nyeri (1) and Vihiga (1).

Coronavirus cases stood at 303 as on Wednesday, Aprill 22, with 14 deaths and 83 recoveries reported.


More on Capital News