Kenya’s Sauti Sol joins line-up for MTV Africa Music Awards #MTVMAMA

Sauti Sol (1)

MTV Base has revealed the final additions to the red hot line-up for the MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA) 2014.  Sauti Sol, Sarkodie, The Arrows, Khuli Chana and Dr Sid round out the star-studded roster of performers, which includes previously announced performers French Montana, Miguel, Trey Songz, Davido, Uhuru, Mafikizolo, Oskido, Professor, Tiwa Savage, Flavour, Diamond, Wizkid, Phyno and Yuri da Cunha.

The 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards is a stunning pan-African celebration of music, youth culture and lifestyle, brought to you by KwaZulu-Natal Province and supported by Absolut and the City of Durban.  South African Tourism is also a key partner to the awards.

Legendary stand-up comic, film and television sensation Marlon Wayans is to host MAMA 2014, which broadcasts live from the ICC, Durban at 21:00 CAT on Saturday 7 June.

Nominees from the length and breadth of sub-Saharan Africa are represented in the nominations for this year’s music categories, including 2Face, AKA, Amani, Amr Singh, Anselmo Ralph, Arielle T, Beatenberg, Big Nuz, Burna Boy, Chidinma, Clarence Peters, Danny K, Davido, Diamond, DJ Buckz, DJ Clock, DJ C’ndo, DJ Ganyani, DJ Kent, The Arrows, Donald, Don Jazzy, Dr Malinga, Dr Sid, Efya, Espoir 2000, Fally Ipupa, FB, Ferre Gola, Flavour, Fuse ODG, Gangs of Ballet, Goldfish, Heavy K, Ice Prince, JD, KCEE, Khuli Chana, Kyle Lewis, LCNVL, Lizha James, Mafikizolo, Matthew Mole, May D, Mi Casa, Michael Lowman, Nakhane Toure, Nelson Freitas, Olamide, Oskido, P Square, Professor, The Parlotones, Phyno, Radio and Weasel, R2bees, Sarkodie, Sauti Sol, Shortstraw, Stanley Enow, Tiwa Savage, Toofan, Uhuru, Wizkid, Youssoupha, Yuri Da Cunha and Zakes Bantwini.

In this year’s newly introduced lifestyle award categories, Chimamanda Adichie, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde, Trevor Noah, Lupita Nyong’o and Yaya Toure are nominated as Personality of the Year. Clarence Peters, Leti Arts, Rasty and Anisa Mpungwe are nominated in Transform Today by Absolut.

With hundreds of thousands of votes already cast, public voting for 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards continues online at until midnight on 4 June 2014. Voting for Song of the Year continues up until the show on 7 June.

– MTV Base

(Visited 25 times, 1 visits today)



  1. Avatar citizenpete July 3rd, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    I hope the bus park Kidero is talking about is a modern bus park not muthurwa extension.Why can we build bus parks that don’t having markets? All buses/matatus head ing to destinations outside Nairobi should all have a common modern bus park modeled along the lines of a small airport.Surely this not asking too much.This will address the traffic congestion problem and bring order in Nairobi.Kidero you need to modernise Nairobi.Thats why Nairobi voted for a former CEO and not a politician.


Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *