Kenyans win big at the 2018 Africa Magic Viewers’Choice Awards, AMVCAs

It was big night for Kenya in Nigeria on Saturday, after bagging a total of 6 awards during the 6th Annual Africa Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards (AMVCAs). The prestigious event was held at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos.

The movie 18 Hours, which was inspired by true events won a total of 3 awards including Best Overall Movie in Africa (Phoebe Ruguru), Best Movie East Africa (Phoebe Ruguru) and Best Picture Editor (Mark Maina).

Nyce Wanjeri, popularly known as Shiro on the comedy Auntie Boss was declared the best actress in Africa. She could not hide her shock after she beat some of the big names in Nollywood to be named Best Actress in a comedy and TV Series.

Other Kenyan Winners include Denis Maina Wanjohi whose documentary “The Flesh Business” was declared the Best Documentary and Sarika Hemi Lakhani for her movie “Supa Modo” which bagged the Best Indigenous Language movie or TV series.

Speaking after the event, MultiChoice Kenya Managing Director Eric Odipo congratulated the winners for their hard work and win.

“Kudos to all the winners for their high-flying achievement in Africa. We are proud to know that Kenyan content has come of age and can compete globally and in Nollywood. At Multichoice, our role is to enrich lives. As Africa continues to change rapidly, the entertainment industry is ever more relevant. We are using our influence and resources to play a positive role in Africa, helping to grow Africa’s people and creative industries into vibrant, economic powerhouses,” said Odipo.

As expected, the crème de la crème of the African film, TV and entertainment industry turned out on the famous AMVCA red carpet and the show, which was hosted by the returning duo of IK Osakioduwa and Minnie Dlamini started with an electrifying performance by the critically acclaimed Niger-Delta dance troupe, Seki.

Other performances of the night include renditions by famous singer-producer Cobhams Asuquo, and Nigerian opera singer, Omo Bello who performed together with her orchestra. Nigerian rapper Falz also thrilled on the night, even as he won the ‘Best Supporting Actor in a Drama’ award.

Another highlight of the night was when renowned Nigerian cinematographer Tunde Kelani was presented with the Industry Merit award, a decision that was well received by the audience as evidenced by a prolonged standing ovation. In the same vein, the Trailblazer Award was given to Bisola Aiyeola in recognition of her growing impact in the African film and TV space.

The crowning of the night was the announcement of Phoebe Ruguru’s ’18 Hours’ as the Best Overall movie, a fitting tribute to an event that featured many other Kenyan winners.

“Congratulations to all winners! Kenya showed we are the pride of Africa and we’re proud of the contribution we make to keep our communities entertained, and our business has grown hand-in-hand with local economies by forging long-term partnerships with film-makers and entrepreneurs,” said MNet Channel Director, East and Southern Channels, Timothy Okwaro.

See the full list of winners at the 2018 AMVCAs below:

1. Best Documentary

The Flesh Business  (Denis Wanjohi Maina)

2.  Best Television Series

This is It  Dolapo Adeleke (Lowla Dee)

3. Best Cinematographer Movie or TV Series

Okafor’s Law (Yinka Edward)

4. Best Movie East Africa

18 Hours  (Phoebe Ruguru)

5.Best Writer (Movie /TV Series)

Alter Ego (Patrick Nnamani, Koye O, Moses Inwang)

6.Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV series -Yoruba

Etiko Onigedu, Femi Adebayo)

7.Best Lighting Designer Movie / TV series

Tatu Akple Ododoru, Tunde Akinniyi

8.Best Picture Editor Movie /TV series

18 Hours (Mark Maina)

9.Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV series – Igbo

Bound (Lilian Afegbai)

10.Best Sound Editor Movie or TV series

Tatu Kolade Morakinyo, Pius Fatoke

11. Best Soundtrack Movie/TV series

Tatu Evelle

12.Best Costume Designer Movie or TV Series

The Bridge (Ngozi Obasi, James Bessinone)

13. Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV series -Hausa

Mansoor Ali Nuhu

14. Best Makeup Artist Movie or TV Series

Tatu Thelma, OZY smith, Hakeem Effest Onilogbo

15. Best Art Director Movie or TV series

Lotanna Tunji Afolayan

16.Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV series – Swahili

Supa Modo(Sarika Hemi Lakhani)

17.Best movie Southern Africa

The Road to Sunrise (Shemu Joyah)

18. Best Director Movie

Isoken Jade Osiberu

19.Best Movie West Africa

Isoken Jade Osiberu

20. Best Overall  Movie

18 Hours Phobe Ruguru

21. Best Actor in a comedy Movie/TV series

A Million Baby Odunlade Adekola

22.Best Actor in a Drama Movie/ TV series

Keteke Adjetey Anang

23. Best Actress in a Comedy Movie/TV series

Auntie Boss (Nyce Wanjeri)

24. Best Actress in a Drama movie/TV series

Alter Ego Omotola Jalade- Ekeinde

25.Best Supporting Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV series)

New Money Falz

26. Best Supporting Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV series)

Isoken Lydia Forson

27. Best Short Film or Online Video

Penance (Michael “Ama Psalmist” Akinrogunde

28. Industry Merit Award

Tunde Kelani

29. Trail Blazer Award

Bisola Aiyeola


(Visited 383 times, 1 visits today)


Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.