Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Nick Mwendwa all smiles after picking his certificate during the FKF elections. PHOTO/Timothy Olobulu


Nick Mwendwa re-elected as Football Kenya Federation president

NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 17 – Nicholas Kithuku Mwendwa will serve the Football Kenya Federation as the president for a new four-year term after unanimously being voted in during the elective Special General Meeting held at the Safari Park Hotel in Nairobi on Saturday.

Mwendwa garnered 77 votes, beating closest competitor Lordvick Aduda who managed five votes while Herbert Mwachiro only had three.

Boniface Osano and Dan Mule did not get any vote.

The elections had been cancelled twice before by the Sports Disputes Tribunal (SDT) but were finally given the all clear on Friday after Tribunal boss John Ohaga threw out a petition by Sam Nyamweya and seven others.

Sports Registrar Rose Wasike who had in the 11th hour opposed to the election but her wish turned down, was also present to witness the polls.

The closest contest was in the Women Representative post where former referee Margaret Anyango beat Kerubo Momanyi by a vote, Anyango getting 43 while Kerubo managed 42.

Michael Ouma was meanwhile elected as the new Nairobi region NEC member after getting 59 votes to floor his closest competitor, former Nyanza NEC member Tom Alila who got 25 votes. Isaac Macharia only had one vote.

He takes over from Chris Amimo who did not contest.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Meanwhile, incumbent Joseph Andere unanimously retained his seat as the Nyanza National Executive Committee Member after getting 79 votes. His only competitor, Western Stima chairman Laban Jobita could only manage five while one vote was spoilt.

Bernard Korir was elected as the new Upper Rift chair after getting 64 votes ahead of Nyongesa Masinde who could only manage 21.

AhmedQadar Mohamed Dabar was elected unanimously as the new North Eastern representative after picking a whooping 82 votes ahead of Mohamed Abdi Farah who could only manage three.

Davis Chege (Central), Timothy Muriithi Nabea (Eastern), Enos Kweya (Western), David Bunei (Lower Rift) and Gabriel Mghendi (Coast) have been elected unopposed as they were the only ones to declare interest in the seats.

Tana River, Lamu and Samburu counties were however not represented in the polls as they did not meet the requisite requirements to conduct branch elections.

The Kenya Footballers Welfare Association (KEFWA), Kenya Football Referees Association (KEFORA) and the Kenya Football Coaches Association (KEFOC) were also not represented because of the same reasons.

FKF elections final results


NEC Members:

Michael Ouma (Nairobi)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Bernard Korir (Upper Rift)

Joseph Andere (Nyanza)

Davis Chege (Central) – Unopposed

Timothy Muriithi Nabea (Eastern) – Unopposed

Enos Kweya (Western) – Unopposed

David Bunei (Lower Rift) – Unopposed

Gabriel Mghendi (Coast) – Unopposed

Women Rep: Margaret Omondi

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Nick Mwendwa re-elected as Football Kenya Federation president – Mchipuko

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved