Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Legendary Kipchoge, Messi in Laureus Awards

Marathon great Kipchoge crowned 2019 Male Athlete of the Year

NAIROBI, Kenya, Jan 15 – History maker Eliud Kipchoge has been nominated for the Sportsman of the Year in Laureus World Sports Awards alongside superstars Lionel Messi, Lewis Hamilton, Rafael Nadal and Tiger Woods.

The prestigious annual global awards will be held in Berlin, Germany on February 17 where Olympic champion Kipchoge who in 2019 apart from defending the London Marathon, the Kenyan wrote history by becoming the first man to run a marathon under two hours, clocking 1:59:40 at the Ineous challenge.

However, the world marathon record holder will face stiff challenge from Formula One star Hamilton who won a sixth world title in Formula One.

On his part, Woods is named in the category after winning his 15th major title at the Masters in April.

Gymnast Simone Biles is bidding for her third Sportswoman of the Year Award, and is among six nominees including USA footballer Megan Rapinoe, who claimed the Women’s World Cup Golden Ball and Golden Boot.

Boxer Andy Ruiz Jr is listed for the Breakthrough of the Year award after his 1 June win over Anthony Joshua and the winners of each category – voted for by the 68 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy – will be named in Berlin on 17 February.

-Full list of nominees

Sportsman of the Year

Lewis Hamilton (GB) – Formula 1

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya) – athletics

Marc Marquez (Spain) – motor cycling

Lionel Messi (Argentina) – football

Rafael Nadal (Spain) – tennis

Tiger Woods (USA) – golf

Sportswoman of the Year

Simone Biles (USA) – gymnastics

Allyson Felix (USA) – athletics

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) – athletics

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Naomi Osaka (Japan) – tennis

Megan Rapinoe (USA) – football

Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) – skiing


Team of the Year

Liverpool FC (GB) – football

Mercedes-AMG Petronas (Germany) – motor racing

South Africa men’s rugby union team

Spain men’s basketball team

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Toronto Raptors (Canada) – basketball

United States women’s football team


Breakthrough of the Year

Bianca Andreescu (Canada) – tennis

Egan Bernal (Colombia) – cycling

Coco Gauff (USA) – tennis

Japan men’s rugby union team

Andy Ruiz Jr (USA) – boxing

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Regan Smith (USA) – swimming


Comeback of the Year

Nathan Adrian (USA) – swimming

Sophia Florsch (Germany) – motor racing

Christian Lealiifano (Australia) – rugby union

Kawhi Leonard (USA) – basketball

Liverpool FC (GB) – football

Andy Murray (GB) – tennis

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 27 – DStv and GOtv subscribers are in for a treat of the world’s best football this week as the 2020-21...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 6 – Gentrix Shikangwa scored with two minutes left as Vihiga Queens sailed to the final of the CECAFA regional qualifiers...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved