Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Kipchoge, Cheruiyot nominated for IAAF award

Eliud Kipchoge the History Maker. Photo/COURTESY

NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 14 – History maker Eliud Kipchoge and Diamond Trophy Champion Timothy Cheruiyot have been named among the 11 nominees for the IAAF Male Athlete of the Year.

Kipchoge who won the IAAF crown last year on the back of his world record run at the Berlin Marathon became the first man to run a marathon under two hours over the weekend in the Ineos 1:59 challenge.

Though the record was not acceptable via IAAF standards, the feat has gone on to inspire millions across the globe with IAAF among the first to laud him for his effort in the Austrian capital of Vienna.

Apart from his history run in Vienna, Kipchoge also won the London Marathon earlier in the year before turning his focus on the challenge bankrolled by British billionaire Jim Ratcliffe and his biochemical company Ineos.

Meanwhile, Timothy Cheruiyot who finally bagged his first ever major title with victory in the 1500m race at the IAAF World Championships in Doha adding on to his Diamond Trophy conquest will also line up for the award.

Others named in the 11-man shortlist include USA sprint duo of Noah Lyles and Chris Coleman as well as Ugandan distance runner Joshua Cheptegei.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms.

Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting for the Male World Athlete of the Year closes on 4 November. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

Full list of nominees

Donavan Brazier (USA)

– won world 800m title in a championship record of 1:42.34

– won Diamond League title

– won four of his five outdoor 800m races

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Christian Coleman (USA)

Christian Coleman won his first major outdoor 100 metres title in a time of 9.76sec

– won world 100m title in a world-leading 9.76

– won world 4x100m title in a world-leading 37.10

– won four of his five races at 100m

Joshua Cheptegei (UGA)

– won world cross-country title in Aarhus

– won world 10,000m title in a world-leading 26:48.36

– won Diamond League 500m title

Timothy Cheruyiot (KEN)

– won world 1500m title

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

– won Diamond League 1500m title

– won 10 of his 11 outdoor races across all distances

World 1500m champion Timothy Cheruiyot drinks mursik after jetting back home from the IAAF World Championships in Doha on October 7, 2019. PHOTO/Timothy Olobulu

Steven Gardiner (BAH)

– won world 400m title in 43.48

– undefeated all year over 400m

– ran world-leading 32.26 indoors over 300m

Sam Kendricks (USA)

– won world pole vault title

– cleared a world-leading 6.06m to win the US title

– won 12 of his 17 outdoor competitions, including the Diamond League final

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)

– won London Marathon in a course record of 2:02:37

– ran 1:59:40.2 for 42.195km in Vienna

Noah Lyles (USA)

– won world 200m and 4x100m titles

– ran a world-leading 19.50 in Lausanne to move to fourth on the world all-time list

– won Diamond League titles at 100m and 200m

Daniel Stahl (SWE)

– won the world discus title

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

– threw a world-leading 71.86m to move to fifth on the world all-time list

– won 13 of his 16 competitions, including the Diamond League final

Christian Taylor (USA)

– won the world triple jump title

– won Diamond League title

– won 10 of his 14 competitions

Karsten Warholm (NOR)

– won the world 400m hurdles title

– undefeated indoors and outdoors at all distances, including at the Diamond League final and the European Indoor Championships

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

– clocked world-leading 46.92, the second-fastest time in history

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved