Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


South Africa, Spain confirm Safari 7s entry

South Africa, Spain confirm Safari Sevens 2019 participation. Photo/COURTESY

NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 14 – World Sevens Series core sides South Africa and Spain are among twelve teams that have so far confirmed their participation at this year’s Safari Sevens.

South Africa finished fourth in the 2018/2019 HSBC World Sevens Series having secured their slot in the Tokyo Olympics taking place in July 2020.

The Spaniards, losing semifinalists at last year’s tournament were twelfth overall at the close of the 2018/19 World Series with 49 points, 12 clear of Kenya who finished 13th overall.

This year’s tournament which returns from the 18th to 20th October at the RFUEA Ground will be the first time South Africa sends their core side to this tournament since their Elite Player Development squad won the 2012 tournament.

That squad was coached by current Blitzbok Head Coach Neil Powell and featured current Blitzbok stars Justin Geduld and Werner Kok.

Defending champions Samurai will also be returning to Nairobi to defend the trophy they won last year with a 21-14 win over hosts Shujaa.

Other confirmed teams include South African sides Western Province and Blue Bulls, current African Sevens champions Zimbabwe, Uganda, Russia Sevens Academy, Red Wailers, French side Seventise as well as the two Kenyan representative sides Shujaa and Morans.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved