Football Football

Wanga axed in H.Stars France camp squad    

Wanga axed as Migne names France camp squad

NAIROBI, Kenya, May 30 – Kakamega Homeboyz forward Allan Wanga has been dropped from the Harambee Stars squad that is scheduled to depart for France Friday for a three-week boot camp ahead of the 2019 Nations Cup to be hosted in Egypt in July.

Wanga, who was one of the prospects to make the squad, being on the verge of winning the 2018/19 Kenyan Premier League Golden Boot, is among the 27-players who were chopped as the head coach unveiled the squad on the eve of travel.

In his absence, Migne has preferred to field John Avire, Masud Juma, Christopher Mbamba and Michael Olunga as his attackers.

Gor Mahia striker Samuel Onyango (Right) and winger Clifton Miheso (Left) during training. Photo/RAYMOND MAKHAYA

Winger Cliffton Miheso has been included in the provisional squad, having impressed in training.

Regulars captain Victor Wanyama and Eric Johanna have also been included.

The team jets out to Paris on Friday and has been booked at the French Rugby Federation, Marcoussis Cedex, where they will a 19-day residential training.

Football Kenya Federation has also lined up two friendly matches, one against Madagascar on June 7 in Paris and the Democratic Republic of Congo a week later on June 15 in Madrid, Spain.

Harambee Stars head Coach Sebastien Migne issuing instructions during training. RAYMOND MAKHAYA

The team will then jet out to Cairo, Egypt on June 19 in time for the Africa Cup of Nations.

Kenya will play her Group C matches at the 30 June Stadium in Cairo.

The first match will see Harambee Stars face Algeria on June 23. Tanzania will be up next on June 27, before Stars wind up their group stage matches against Senegal on July 1, 2019.

Provisional Squad


Patrick Matasi, John Oyemba, Faruk Shikalo


Abud Omar, Joash Onyango, Joseph Okumu, Musa Mohammed, David Owino, Bernard Ochieng, Brian Mandela, Philemon Otieno, Eric Ouma


Victor Wanyama, Anthony Akumu, Ismael Gonzalez, Ayub Timbe, Francis Kahata, Ovella Ochieng, Dennis Odhiambo, Eric Johanna, Paul Were, Cliffton Miheso, Johanna Omollo


John Avire, Masud Juma, Christopher Mbamba, Michael Olunga

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)