Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


KCB star Shaban omitted as Kenya 7s provisional squad named

Shaban Ahmed posses with his MVP trophy at Dala 7s. Photo/SCRUMMAGE

NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 24- Despite having a stellar season in the just concluded National Sevens Circuit, KCB Rugby Club utility back Shaban Ahmed did not catch the eyes of selectors as Kenya Rugby Union named a 42-man provisional squad for the busy 2017/18 season.

Shaban was the top try scorer (25) and points scorer (167) in the 2017 National Sevens Series and guided his club KCB to the Prinsloo 7s title where he was named the Most Valuable Player.

The 28-year-old KCB play maker was instrumental in converting the conversions for the Bankers and was named the Most Valuable Player in the last leg at Dala Sevens over the weekend in Kisumu.

KCB, who finished fourth in the 2017 series, has four players (Andrew Amonde, Martin Owila, Arthur Owira and Jacob Ojee in the squad that will be whittled down to 26 players with 18 expected to be handed a contract for the new season that has the HSBC Sevens World Series, World Cup and the Commonwealth Games.

Collins Injera. Photo/FILE

All the regulars led by Mwamba’s star winger Collins Injera were included while New Zealand based Willy Ambaka is also in the squad.

Notable inclusion is Black Blad fly-half Levy Amunga who has been very instrumental for the Kenyatta University side.

However, KCB fly-half Darwin Mukidza did not make the squad after not having an impressive season last year in the HSBC Sevens World Series.

Impala RFC produced a big chunk of seven players led by Samuel Oliech while Kabras – the 2017 National Sevens Circuit champions have four players led by Dan Sikuta.

Mwamba has only three players (star winger Injera, centre Billy Odhiambo and flyhalf Daniel Taabu).

-Provisional squad-

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


  1. Andrew Amonde – KCB
  2. Harold Anduvati- Oilers
  3. Herman Humwa – Quins
  4. Ian Minjire – Impala
  5. Martin Owilla- KCB
  6. Oscar Ouma – Nakuru
  7. Charles Omondi – Homeboyz
  8. Dan Sikuta – Kabras
  9. Elkeans Musonye – Strathmore
  10. Derrick Mayar – Impala
  11. Willy Ambaka – Manawatu***


  1. Arthur Owira- KCB
  2. Frank Wanyama – Quins
  3. Jeff Oluoch – Homeboyz
  4. Monate Akwei – Nakuru
  5. Richard Sidindi – Impala
  6. Bush Mwale – Homeboyz


  1. Brian Tanga – Kabras
  2. Collins Injera – Mwamba
  3. Dominic Osino – Kabras
  4. Michael Wanjala – Homeboyz
  5. Sam Onsomu – Impala
  6. Brian Waihenya – Blak Blad


  1. Eden Agero – Quins
  2. Mark Kwemoi – Impala
  3. Felix Ayange – Kabras
  4. Leonard Mugaisi – Homeboyz
  5. Daniel Taabu – Mwamba
  6. Levi Amunga -Blak Blad


  1. Eric Ombasa – Oilers
  2. Oscar Ayodi – Homeboyz
  3. David Ambunya – Quins
  4. Lucas Opal – Strathmore
  5. Samuel Motari – Impala
  6. Samuel Oliech – Impala
  7. Billy Odhiambo – Mwamba***


  1. Alex Olaba – Strathmore
  2. Dennis Ombachi – Nondies
  3. Jacob Ojee – KCB
  4. Nelson Oyoo – Nakuru
  5. Sam Muregi – Oilers
  6. Derrick Keyoga – Oilers

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved