Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Uganda to host 2017 Africa Sevens Rugby

Kenya Sevens players hurdle together before a past match

KAMPALA, June 21 – Confederation of African Rugby, the continent’s rugby governing body, has selected Uganda to host the 2017 Africa Sevens Championship.

The event will take place Oct. 6-7 in the capital Kampala.

Andrew Owor, president of the Uganda Rugby Union told Xinhua on Tuesday, “We are excited that we have been given chance to host this event that will have 10 nations taking part.”

The event will attract hosts Uganda, Kenya, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Tunisia, Madagascar, Senegal, Morocco, Mauritius and Zambia.

Tournament winner and the losing finalist will have a chance to appear at the Hong Kong Sevens in the HSBC World Sevens Series qualifiers.

The winner also earns an invitation to the Dubai Sevens and Cape Town Sevens.

The Women’s edition will be held in Tunisia and the champions will qualify for 2018 Sevens World Cup.

-By Xinhua-

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved