Rugby Rugby

Namcos names four debutants in first squad

Kenya Sevens players attending the first training under new head coach Innocent Simiyu.PHOTO/Raymond Makhaya.
Kenya Sevens players attending the first training under new head coach Innocent Simiyu.PHOTO/Raymond Makhaya.

NAIROBI, Kenya, Nov 4- New Kenya Sevens head coach Innocent Simiyu has named four debutants in his squad of 21 that will be contracted to do duty for the country this season in the World Rugby Sevens Series.

The Kabras Sugar duo of Aluda Beda and Brian Tanga who were top performers during the national sevens circuit have been rewarded with calls into the team and they will fight it out with the rest of the squad for a place in the first travelling squad to Dubai.

Also called in is Impala Saracens’ Derek Mayar and Kenya 15s star Darwin Mukiza who turns out for KCB with the speedstar now challenged to translate his form in the longer version of the game to the sevens.

Simiyu has also handed recalls to Dan Sikuta, Cyprian Kuto and Martin Owila who were overlooked for most of last season.

The new coach has also retained 14 players from the squad that played last season.

The four new players will be given a chance to prove they are ready to debut for the national team in the Dubai Sevens in December during the Safland Sevens to be held in Namibia between November 12 and 13.

Simiyu has named a squad of 16 players from his final 21 into the Safland Sevens team which will jet out of the country on Monday for a week-long training camp in the Coastal city of Swakopmund before the tournament.

The notable absentee in the final squad of 21 is Dennis Ombachi who has been dropped from the initial squad named last month.

The team, whose travel has been jointly facilitated by tournament sponsors Safland and The Swakopmund Dome, features twelve players with previous Sevens World Series experience led by captain Andrew Amonde.

Newly appointed strength and conditioning coach Ian Gibbons will link up with the side in Namibia.

Kenya Sevens season squad

Andrew Amonde (KCB, Captain), Martin Owila, Darwin Mukidza (KCB), Dan Sikuta, Brian Tanga, Aluda Beda (Kabras Sugar), Cyprian Kuto, Alvin Otieno, Oscar Ayodi, Bush Mwale, Leonard Mugaisi, Augustine Lugonzo (Menengai Cream Homeboyz),Sammy Oliech, Derek Mayar (Resolution Impala Saracens), Oscar Ouma, Nelson Oyoo (Top Fry Nakuru), Frank Wanyama, Eden Agero, William Ambaka (Kenya Harlequin), Billy Odhiambo, Collins Injera (Mwamba)

Safland Sevens squad

Andrew Amonde (captain), Oscar Ouma, William Ambaka, Frank Wanyama, Nelson Oyoo, Leonard Mugaisi, Daniel Sikuta, Billy Odhiambo, Eden Agero, Bush Mwale, Martin Owila, Augustine Lugonzo, Brian Tanga, Aluda Beda, Darwin Mukidza, Derek Mayar