Motors Motors

Tundo, Duncan clash in Ganatra Rally

The rally has attracted top guns among them Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo, Baldev Chager, Rajbir Rai, Tapio Laukannen.
The rally has attracted top guns among them Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo and Ian Duncan.

NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 26 – Legendary drivers Carl “Flash” Tundo and Ian Duncan will challenge defending champion Gray Cullen for the season finale JCB Ganatra National Rally Raid Championship event in Soysambu.

The final raid of the year will take place this weekend incorporating a new route on the expansive Soysambu Conservancy. The event will be organised by Vintage Club (VCCCK).

The first leg is expected to rev off on Saturday from 14:00hours through to 17:00hours then restart on Sunday at 09:00 and finish at 12:30, according to organizer Raju Chagger.

“Raid 5 final route check was done last week. The route is completely dry, although the rain clouds are building up,” Chagger said .

Duncan, who is lying third on the log with155 points, has an outside chance of clinching the coveted car class title although the main suspects will be Flash Tundo and Cullen. Five points separate leader Tundo and champion Cullen for the title which went down to the wire after the penultimate round in Lukenya.

“We will be taking part in Raid 5 and as I understand we are neck and neck in the points with Flash Tundo. Unfortunately, our Championship winning car is in pieces awaiting a new build for next season that will see a lot more power.”

“For this weekend’s raid, we are going to borrow Nish Lakhani’s car to fight for the car championship. Its a 4000cc Lexus V8 powered Land Rover 110. My navigator and chief builder/mechanic is Jonathan Bovard who is the key to our success so far,” said Gray.

The car class has attracted a good chunk of rally drivers including Joost Zuurbier in a Land Rover Tornado,  Quentin Mitchell in a Mitsubishi Pareto and Geoff Mayes in a Land Rover V8.

Mayes and his partner Suzanne Zwager are eagerly looking forward to roaring back into action. Their Silverspread Team Meru supported v8 Landrover has been fettled and the pair are keen to end the season with a good result.

“Pete Young and his team have worked tirelessly on the car to get it ready for the end of the season event . The next few weeks will be pretty hectic as immediately after the last rally raid we need to get ready for the final two KNRC events. We are especially looking forward to returning to Soysambu in memory of my good friend Tom (Cholmolndeley) and intend to go flat out from the start,” said Mates.

Mali Nyachae.
Mali Nyachae.

Geoff, who is a motorsport ambassador for the wildlife conservation awareness cause “Hands off our Elephants”, is supported by Silverspread Meru Rally Team, Maxxis Tyres, Team Magic suspension and Purdy Arms.

Shaun Miller, son of renowned rally driver Gerald Miller, is set to make a comeback to the series.

Shaun will be riding a KTM 530 which belonged to his step Father, David Francombe.

“I’ve got nothing to lose as I missed one, and helped my brother in another. So I’m not doing well on championship points. So yes, I feel rusty, but its max attack in Soysambu – hopefully I don’t get lost!”-Shaun Miller.

Bikes champion Road Field will be riding his Husqvarna 350 FE and is looking forward to the final event.

“We hope for a large entry as the championships are decided!

We also welcome Shaun Miller back in the bike class. For the overall title, I need to beat the cars to have a chance which will be exciting with Gray and Flash pushing hard!” Field said.

Rally Raid 5 entries so far:


  1. Carl Tundo/Tim Jessop (Milner)
  2. Quentin Mitchell/ Steven Cook (Mitsubishi Pajero)
  3. Gray Cullen (Land Rover)
  4. Geoff Mayes/Suzanne Zwager (Land Rover V8)
  5. Adin Haq ‘Paps”/Riyaz Ismail (Range Rover Ebowler)
  6. Joost Zuurbier (Land Rover Tornado)
  7. Gurvir Bhabra/Jaspal Matharu (Nissan Patrol Hybrid 2.5 Litre Turbo)
  8. Ian Duncan


  1. Ross Field (Husqvarna 350 FE )
  2. Rob Calder
  3. Shaun Miller (KTM 530)


  1. Manpreet Sagoo (Polaris)


  1. Shazar Anwar (Can-Am DS450xxc)
  2. Chris Wahome (Raptor700)
  3. Gavin Laurence (Can-Am DS650x)

Rally Raid Standings as at penultimate Round 4

Car Class

  1. Carl “Flash” Tundo 220
  2. Gray Cullen 215
  3. Ian Duncan 190
  4. Joost Zuurbier 155
  5. Quentin Mitchell 125
  6. Mickey Hughes 90
  7. Alasdair Keith 85
  8. Adin Haq “Paps” 81.66
  9. Mark Glen 50
  10. Raj Jutley 49.9
  11. Geoff Mayes 25
  12. Gurvir Bhabra 20
  13. Rajesh Maini 0

Quad Class

  1. Shazar Anwar 240
  2. Chris Wahome 110
  3. Gavin Laurence 93.33
  4. Mitraj Lochab 55.33