Rugby Rugby

Quins crowned Driftwood Sevens champions

Kenya Harlequin lifting the Driftwood Sevens title after seeing-off Homeboyz 19-14.
Kenya Harlequin lifting the Driftwood Sevens title after seeing-off Homeboyz 19-14.PHOTO/KRU

MOMBASA, Kenya, Aug 21 – Kenya Harlequin are this year’s Driftwood Sevens champions after beating Homeboyz 19-14 in the final played at the Mombasa Sports Club on Sunday.

Hosea Odhiambo bagged over the winning try as the clock ticked down to zero to separate the tie that was locked 14-14 with less than 30 seconds left and ensure Quins win their record tenth Driftwood Sevens title, and the first since 2006.

Charles Omondi went over first for Homeboyz, Humphrey Owuor adding the extra but Quins responded with a try from Eric Shikuku, converted by Felix ayange to tie the game at 7-7 going to half time.

In the second half Alvine Otieno went over for Homeboyz, the ensuing conversion good to send the Deejayz 14-7 ahead.

However, Quins who were contesting their first final in three tournaments, rallied back with a Frank Wanyama late in the half soon after Homeboyz were reduced to six, Kevin Keegan adding the extra to tie the game at 14-14.

That effort set the platform for Hosea to clinch Quins tenth title at Driftwood to add on to titles in 1990, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006.

As Quins won, Homeboyz who were in a third straight final were left beaten for a second straight weekend that follows on their loss to Impala Saracens at Kabeberi Sevens last weekend.

Strathmore Leos claimed third place after seeing-off Kabras Sugar 12-7 in a match where Brian Tanga teased Leos into action with a try and conversion under the posts  as Kabras went up 7-0.

A response from Elton Isiaho and Churchill Ooko- converted by Kanyiri Kariuki handed Leos the Bronze

Defending overall series champions KCB took home the Plate with a 17-5 over Impala Saracens. Vincent Onyala landed first for KCB before Jimmy Kolonzo doubled matters at the close of the first half for a 10-0 lead at the break.

A Mohammed Omolo response was not enough in the second half as KCB added a third through former Kariobangi Brumbies player Isaac Njoroge. Ken Moseti was good with the boot to end the duel at 17-5.

Nakuru beat Menengai Oilers 14-0 to win Bowl as Daystar Falcons won the Shield with a 24-5 win over Kisii RFC.