Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Ayana targets double gold as Ethiopia announce team for Rio

Ayana targets double gold as Ethiopia announce team for Rio.PHOTO

Ayana targets double gold as Ethiopia announce team for Rio.PHOTO

ADDIS Ababa, Ethiopia, July 16 – Ethiopia’s Almaz Ayana will seek to become just the second woman in history to win Olympic gold in both the 5000m and 10,000m at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games next month.

The 24-year-old was announced for both events by the Ethiopian Athletics Federation and appears to hold a strong chace of emulating the feat first accomplished by countrywoman Tirunesh Dibaba in 2008.

Ayana tops the world lists at both distances this year, having run 14:12.59 for 5000m at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in Rome and 30:07.00 for 10,000m in Hengelo last month.

Tirunesh Dibaba will compete over 5000m and is currently listed as a reserve for the 10,000m, the event at which she is the reigning champion from the 2012 Games in London.

The 30-year-old will be seeking her fourth Olympic gold medal in Rio, though has competed sparingly so far this year.

In her only outing over 5000m, Dibaba clocked 14:41.73 at a small meeting in Kortrijk, Belgium last weekend, which proved enough to convince selectors she was deserving of a spot in Rio.

Genzebe Dibaba will narrow her focus and compete over 1500m, the event at which she holds the world record at 3:50.07. The reigning world champion clocked 3:59.83 in her sole outing at that distance in Barcelona last weekend.

Dejen Gebremeskel, the silver medallist over 5000m at the London 2012 Olympic Games, will bid to go one better over the same distance in Rio and will be joined by Muktar Edris and Hagos Gebrhiwet.

Another looking to go one better in Rio will be Sofia Assefa, the 3000m steeplechase silver medallist at the 2012 Games, though the 28-year-old has a best of just 9:18.16 this year.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Former world champion Mohammed Aman is the sole Ethiopian entrant in the men’s 800m and will be looking to win his first Olympic medal, having finished sixth in the 800m final four years ago.

The men’s marathon team is headed Tesfaye Abera, a winner in both Dubai and Hamburg this year. Lemi Berhanu, a runner-up in Dubai this year, will join him on the team along with Feyisa Lelisa, a winner at the Tokyo Marathon earlier this year.

The women’s marathon trio is headed by world champion Mare Dibaba, who will be joined by 2015 London Marathon champion Tigist Tufa and 2016 Dubai Marathon winner Tirfi Tsegaye.


800m: Mohammed Aman

5000m: Muktar Edris, Dejen Gebremeskel, Hagos Gebrhiwet, (Abadi Hadis)

10,000m: Yigrem Demelash, Abadi Hadis, Tamirat Tola, (Ibrahim Jeilan)

Marathon: Tesfaye Abera, Lemi Berhanu, Feyisa Lelisa, (Lelisa Desisa)

3000m steeplechase: Hailemariyam Amare, Chala Beyo, Tafese Seboka, (Birhan Getahun)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


800m: Habitam Alemu, Tigist Assefa, Gudaf Tsegay

1500m: Genzebe Dibaba, Besu Sado, Dawit Seyaum, (Gudaf Tsegay)

5000m: Almaz Ayana, Gelete Burka, Tirunesh Dibaba, (Netsanet Gudeta)

10,000m: Almaz Ayana, Senbere Teferi, Ababel Yeshaneh, (Tirunesh Dibaba)

Marathon: Mare Dibaba, Tirfi Tsegaye, Tigist Tufa, (Aberu Kebede)

3000m steeplechase: Sofia Assefa, Hiwot Ayalew, Etenesh Diro, (Weynshet Ansa)

20km race walk: Yehualeye Beletew, Askale Tiksa

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 17 – The Kakamega High School ‘Green Commandos’ have produced a plethora of talent over the past decades in Kenyan football...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved