Football Football

Kenya, Uganda to renew rivalry in Cecafa

Harambee Stars players John Ndirangu (left) Musa Mohammed (center) and Ali Abondo (right) training at Kasarani Stadium on November 9.PHOTO/Raymond Makhaya

NAIROBI, November 9 – Harambee Stars has been drawn in a tricky pool B for the Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup that gets underway November 21 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Kenya who will be seeking to defend the title will renew their rivalry with neighbours Uganda in a group where they are also drawn against Burundi and Djibouti.

Hosts Ethiopia will take on Tanzania, Somalia and guest team Zambia in pool A while Sudan, Rwanda, South Sudan and Zanzibar battle it out in pool C.

The regional tournament returns after missing last year when Ethiopia who were supposed to host pulled out at the eleventh hour.

The fixtures will be released on Wednesday in Nairobi by Secretary General Nicholas Musonye.

Stars reported camp on Friday to prepare for 2018 World Cup pre-qualifier against Cape Verde and Cecafa with Finland based winger Clifton Miheso being the only foreign based player to link up with the team training at Kasarani Stadium.

Team Manager, Willis Waliaula was upbeat Kenya will retain the title they won for the first time in 11 years after beating Sudan 2-0 courtesy of Azam FC forward Allan Wanga’s brace in 2013 when it was hosted in Nairobi.

“We called up huge squad that has more local based players so that we can prepare well for World Cup qualifier and Cecafa. I’m confident the boys will deliver in Cecafa because our main aim is to retain the title.

“We are now focusing on Cape Verde match and immediately we are done with both legs, we will concentrate fully the regional tournament,” Waliaula said.

Eritrea is the only member team that pulled out after failing to confirm participation for the tournament that was moved from Bahar Dar to Ethiopia’s capital Addis Ababa due to logistical issues.

-Draw –

Group A: Ethiopia, Zambia, Tanzania, Somalia

Group B: Kenya. Uganda, Burundi. Djibouti

Group C: Sudan, Rwanda, South Sudan, Zanzibar