Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Forty-five cleared to start Nakuru rally

Jaspreet Singh Chatthe drives his Mitsubish EVO X through a water hole during the KCB Safari Rally. PHOTO/File

Jaspreet Singh Chatthe drives his Mitsubish EVO X through a water hole during the KCB Safari Rally. PHOTO/File

NAIROBI, September 4-The gloves are off and its all systems go for the penultimate round of the 2015 Kenyan National Rally Championships (KNRC) KCB Nakuru Rally after 45 cars were cleared to compete on Friday.

The event could culminate in the crowning of Jaspreet Chatthe as the new domestic champion on Sunday, formally ending the reign of Baldev Chager should the freshly coined Africa Rally Championships titleholder nail a top-8 finish in his Mitsubishi Evo X.

After a ceremonial start in presided by Deputy County Governor, Joseph Ruto, cars will tackle eight special stages including the mammoth Mugurin to Molosirwe stretch.

This 50 kilometre back-breaker will be run twice during the day and could play a pivotal part in deciding the day’s winner.

The teams went through necessary administrative and technical checks at Shell Hyrax filling station on Friday with Chief Scrutineer, Musa Locho clearing 45 to start with Samit Ghelot and Kenneth Kamau withdrawing due to pressing commitments.

Cars will cover 169.6km in competitive mileage, a transport road section of 219.80km around Kabarnet Road and Menengai regions.

Six-time Kenyan champion, Ian Duncan, navigated by Amaar Slatch in a Mitsubishi Evolution 10 will be the first off the ramp followed by Carl “Flash” Tundo, Onkar Rai and Chager.

Quentin Mitchell who swept Machakos roads last month passed scrutineering and was all smiles after reconnaissance.

Power steering and intermittent front differential controller problems hampered the handling of his Skoda S2000 machine last time out and was fortunate to get the car to the finish line.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

After in-depth discussions with Skoda Motorsport, Quentin has altered a few settings and feels that the car is handling better than ever.

“Skoda have been very helpful and after a test the car feels much more stable now. Nakuru is typically a low altitude rally and this should help our normally aspirated S2000. We want to use the final two rallies of the season to prove that the modern super-cars are a match for the current Group N machines,” Mitchell told.

“Everything is set. We have passed the final checks and the car is ready to start the race. My objective is to win the race, because it is important for the 2WD championship which is a three way affair.

“We will try to work on the tactics; hence, these first loop of the route will be important to ensure everything goes well,” Formula Two ace, Leonardo Varese, explained.


1978: Frank Tundo (Ford Escort)

1985: Vic Preston Jnr (Lancia Rallye 037)

1986: Johnny Hellier (Lancia Rallye 037)

1987: Ian Duncan (Toyota Twin Cam Turbo)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

1988: Johnny Hillier (Ford Escort Cosworth)

1989: Ian Duncan (Toyota Twin Cam Turbo)

1990: Patrick Njiru (Subaru Legacy)

1991: Ian Duncan (Subaru Legacy)

1992: Jonathan Toroitich (Toyota Celica GT4)

1993: Sarbi Rai (Toyota Celica GT4)

1994: Azar Anwar/Shailen Shah (Subaru Legacy)

1995: Ian Duncan (Toyota Celica Turbo)

1996: Patrick Njiru (Subaru Impreza)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

1997: Nazir Verjee/Peter Stone (Subaru Impreza)

1998: NOT HELD

1999: Ian Duncan (Toyota Land-Cruiser pick up)

2000: NOT HELD

2001: Ian Duncan/Salim Haji (Toyota Land-Cruiser pick up)

2002: Rob Hellier (Mitsubishi EVO III)

2003: Lee Rose (Mitsubishi EVO IV)

2004: Carl Tundo (Subaru Impreza)

2005: Glen Edmunds (Mitsubishi EVO 6)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

2006: Ian Duncan (Toyota Hilux Turbo)

2007: Carl Tundo (Subaru Impreza)

2008: Baldev Chager

2009: Lee Rose (EVO9)

2010: Alastair Cavenagh (EVO9)

2011: Ian Duncan (EVO9)

2012: Carl Tundo (EVO9)

2013: Ian Duncan (EVO9)

2014:Rajbir Rai

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.



  1. Jassi Chatthe 129
  2. Tapio Laukkanen 83
  3. Baldev Chager 82.5
  4. Ian Duncan 80.5

5=Jas Mangat 60

5=Rajbir Rai 60


  1. Gugu Panesar 124
  2. Ravi Soni 94.5
  3. Tim Jessop 67
  4. Gareth Dawe 63
  5. Timothy Challen 46


07:00- Ceremonial start (KCB Menengai Branch-Nakuru)

(Liaison distance from start to CS1-41.20km)

07:43-CS1- Hilltop 1 Start-Hilltop 1 End (16.50km)


08:11- CS2-Mugurin 1 start-Molosirwe 1 end (50.00km)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

09:34- CS3-Spectator stage 1 start-Spectator stage 1End

Service A (Menengai West)


10:12- CS4-Gicheha start-Gicheha End (22.00km)

10:50- CS5-T Farm Start-T Farm End (11.20km)

Service B (Menengai West)


12:08-CS6- Hilltop 2 Start-Hilltop 2 End (16.50km)


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

12:36- CS7-Mugurin 7 start-Molosirwe (50.00km)

13:59- CS8-Spectator stage 2 start-Spectator Stage 2 End (1.70Km)

Service C (Menengai West)


Competitive: 169.60km

Transport: 219.80km

Total Distance 389.40km

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 27 – DStv and GOtv subscribers are in for a treat of the world’s best football this week as the 2020-21...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 6 – Gentrix Shikangwa scored with two minutes left as Vihiga Queens sailed to the final of the CECAFA regional qualifiers...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved