Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Gor, Tusker dominate Stars locals list

Michael Olunga in action for Harambee Stars against club side Gor Mahia on Wednesday, July 1 at Nyayo Stadium. PHOTO/Raymond Makhaya.

Michael Olunga in action for Harambee Stars against club side Gor Mahia on Wednesday, July 1 at Nyayo Stadium. PHOTO/Raymond Makhaya.

NAIROBI, August 18- SportPesa Premier League (SPL) giants, champions Gor Mahia and Tusker FC players dominate the list of local based players called-up by head coach Bobby Williamson for Harambee Stars crucial 2017 AFCON qualifier against Zambia in Nairobi on September 6.

Lethal striker, Michael Olunga, keeper Boniface Oluoch, defender Harun Shakava and midfielder Collins Okoth are the K’Ogalo players in Williamson’s local squad of 15 released Tuesday.

Third placed SPL side, Tusker FC have league top scorer, Jesse Were and the midfield trio of Humphrey Mieno, Noah Wafula and Danson Kago in the preliminary squad that will compete for places in the final squad to face 2012 AFCON champions, Chipolopolo, against foreign based players announced last week.

AFC Leopards and Thika United share two each in defenders Edwin Wafula (Leopards) and Dennis Odhiambo (Thika) as well as midfielders, Bernard Mang’oli (Leopards) and Sammy Meja (Thika).

Mang’oli remains a doubt however, having been forced off their 1-0 loss to Ulinzi Stars in a SPL clash at Nyayo Stadium last week while Mathare United have midfielder Johana Otieno in the squad.

The Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Premier League will be represented by former AFC Leopards keeper, Wycliffe Kasaya (Nakumatt FC) and fellow custodian, Ian Otieno (Posta Rangers).

Gor duo, midfielder Victor Ali Abondo and centre-back Musa Mohammed who played in Stars CHAN exit to Ethiopia in July are the notable absentees from the squad.

-Oliech back-

Last week, the Scotsman named his foreign list with Norway-based first choice keeper, Arnold Origi among those returning to the side.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Origi missed the 1-1 opening draw away to Congo Brazzaville after his invitation letter to Lillestrom from FKF arrived late and joins a list that includes record scorer, Dennis Oliech and defensive midfielder, MacDonald Mariga whose recalls to the side were earlier confirmed by the Scot.

Kenya lead Group E of the 2017 AFCON qualifiers on goal difference after their draw away in Congo coupled with Zambia’s barren home draw against Guinea Bissau in Lusaka.



Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)

Wycliff Kasaya (Nakumatt)

Ian Otieno (Posta Rangers)


Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

EdwinWafula (AFC Leopards)

Dennis Odhiambo (Thika United)


Collins Okoth (Gor Mahia)

Barnard Mang’oli (AFC Leopards)

Sammy Meja (Thika United),

Humphrey Mieno (Tusker)

Noah Wafula (Tusker)

Johana Otieno (Mathare United)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Danson Kago (Tusker)


Jesse Were (Tusker)

Michael Olunga (Gor Mahia)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 27 – DStv and GOtv subscribers are in for a treat of the world’s best football this week as the 2020-21...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 6 – Gentrix Shikangwa scored with two minutes left as Vihiga Queens sailed to the final of the CECAFA regional qualifiers...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved