Football Football

Super 8 draw conducted as 35 get byes


SPORT8-HUSSEINNAIROBI, March 3- The draw for the 2015 SportPesa Super 8 Tournament was conducted Tuesday with 35 team from participating regions except Kamukunji getting byes to the next round.

Representatives from 101 Nairobi estate teams taking part were present for the exercise with Dagoretti, Embakasi, Westlands, Kasarani, Makadara, Starehe and Langata completing the Nairobi regions that will take part.

Organisers, Extreme Sports CEO Hussein Mohammed revealed every team would be awarded with full kit and balls after the tournament.

The second placed candidate in the 2011 Football Kenya Federation (FKF) elections also hinted at establishing an annual Nairobi County League as well as other junior competitions in future.

“We want this tournament to serve as benchmark on how other leagues in the country should be run professionally.

“We hope in future to have the Extreme Sports Nairobi County League as well as run other youth and women leagues. It is very possible and we are setting the right structures for it,” he added.

The first matches of the 2015 SportPesa Super 8 Tournament will be played on March 14.



Thirteen teams were given byes from the preliminary stage while six will play in it. Riruta Baptist FC, Dagoretti Santos, Impala FC, Psalms 105, Makombora Bulls, Congo Youth, Kid Star FC, Muslim FC, One Stone, Kawangware United, NYSA, Gachui Black Boots and Waithaka Babes were given byes while Red Star will face Melta, Young Tremors will take on Mutuini Rangers and Hayos FC will fight it out with Riruta Youth in the preliminaries that will be played on a home and away format.


Three teams got byes from the preliminary stage; Ummoinner FC, Kayole Youth and Mambo Tick FC while Soweto Hope will face McMillan FC, Ruai United versus Yashua FC, KayoleAsubuhi will face Sunrise FC, FulnescoDymes will have a tricky tie against Riara University FC while Picasso FC will square it off with Tena United in the pre-quarters.


Only two team got byes in the Westlands region; Kibagare United and Leeds United while 12 teams will square it out in the preliminaries. Rysa FC versus GuzaGuza FC, Zion Family will face University of Nairobi FC (CAVS), Vision FC versus NYSA, Kabete United will take on Kipande Road FC, Bufallo FC versus Shamako Babes while Green Eagles will face off with WYSA FC.


Six teams will not feature in the opening stages; Githurai Sportiff, Metro FC, Githurai United, Riverside Lions, Babadogo FC and Babadogo Youth while four teams will play in the preliminaries; St Johns versus Lucky Summer while Search and Groom FC will take QDep FC.


No byes were given in Kamukunji region, 16 teams will square it out in the Round of 16.

ShauriMoyo United will take on Daring Club, Pumwani All Stars versus ShauriMoyo Blue Stars, WazeePembe FC versus F.A VAP, State Rangers versus Kinyago United, Biafra Amazon versus Angola FC, Borrusia Dortmund vs Wigu, Corinthians versus Kiambio while Mahende FC while face Wenyeji.


Four teams were given byes from Makadara; Baha United, Mborewa, A 1000 Street and Magic 90 while eight teams will face off in the preliminaries;

Gas Ghettos vs Radar Hotspurs

Rigo Santos vs Nairobees

Reading FC vs Hamza Heroes

Masa FC vs Eastlanders FC


Technical University, Ziwani, Champs FC, Park Road FC, Kiamaiko City and Young Kings were given byes while four teams will play in the preliminaries.

Umeme Bees vs Mathare Celtic

Intact FC vs MlangoKubwa


Only one team, Toy Market FC got a bye while six teams will square it out in the preliminary stage matches.

Diguna FC vs Makina Youth Club

Elite Soccer Academy vs More Fire Sonia FC

RongaiAllStars vs Ajax