Rugby Rugby

18 affiliate clubs reject KRU ‘coup’


kcb-vs-nakuru-scrumNAIROBI, Kenya, February 11- The chasm in Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) widened Thursday when 18 clubs distanced themselves from Monday’s leadership ‘coup’ that ushered in former vice-chairman, Sasha Mutai as the new union boss.

The sides said in a statement dispatched to newsrooms they “Wish to affirm our dedication to the game of Rugby in Kenya and commitment to uphold the values of the game and goodwill to all stakeholders,” in going against the change in leadership following a disputed Special General Meeting.

“We are deeply disturbed by the proceedings at the RFUEA Grounds on 10 February 2015 as reported in the press. A group purported to replace the duly elected Board of the Kenya Rugby Union. We are categorical that this is anarchic behaviour as it ignores the constitutional dictates, common sense and decency upon which our game is grounded,” they added.

Kenya Cup champions, Nakuru RFC and fellow top flight sides Blak Blad, Catholic University RFC, Homeboyz RFC, Kabras Sugar RFC, KCB Rugby Club, Kenya Harlequins, Nondescripts RFC, Impala and Western Bulls appended their names to the statement against the enforced change of leadership.

Second tier sides Bungoma RFC, Egerton University, Kisumu RFC, Shieywe RFC, Technical University of Kenya, USIU-Africa and Webuye RFC rounded the total of those dissociating themselves from the Mutai group that had backing of 12 sides including Kenya Cup outfits Mean Machine, Mwamba and Mombasa.

Although they were aware of a request for a Special General Meeting by Portland Stormers they maintained clause 12 of the KRU constitution gives union secretary general the prerogative to convene such a gathering that he denied vide a letter copied to all affiliates dated January 31 on grounds of defectiveness.

“We have been duly informed that the Board vide the Chairman and Hon. Secretary received a court order restraining the convention of a Special General Meeting. On receipt of communication on the court order, many clubs and their bona fide officials elected not to attend a meeting which had been disbarred,” the clubs added.

“We urge fellow affiliates to cease and desist from further disruption of this esteemed sport. The Kenya Rugby Union Constitution (read together with the By-Laws and the Code of Conduct) is robust enough to deal with all the challenges of the game following due process.”

They pledged to continue the ongoing league schedule whilst not recognising the new faces at the helm of KRU.

“This will ensure that the situation does not deteriorate into a state of chaos that would put the sport, the players, sponsors and other stakeholders’ future in jeopardy. As clubs, we will honour all our remaining fixtures in the current league and appeal to all supporters and the general public to turn up in large numbers as the local league approaches the grand finale.”

Besides Mutai, Gerald Chege (vice-chairman), Okoth (Secretary General) and Joshua Aromi (treasurer) being ushered in as other top officials but their tenure already looks to be in shaky ground following Thursday’s declaration by 18 clubs.