Football Football

KPL Governing Council sticks to 16-teams


EKALIANI-NDOLONAIROBI, November 28- The Kenyan Premier League (KPL) Governing Council have reconfirmed Friday that next season’s top flight will consist of 16 teams in open defiance to Football Kenya Federation that has demanded an 18-side competition.

“The members expressed their continuing and full support for the rule of law in Kenyan football and their determination to protect the integrity and reputation of the Kenyan Premier League.

“In this regard the KPL will respect and abide by the decision of the established Judicial and quasi-judicial bodies from time to time. The KPL the Governing Council confirms that the KPL audited accounts are available on the KPL website and in the public domain for scrutiny despite the fact that KPL is a private limited liability company,” a statement signed by all 2014 KPL clubs bar Thika United said.

Among the signatures in the document are those of champions Gor Mahia chairman, Ambrose Rachier and AFC Leopard’s Allan Kasavuli despite both sides being reported to have been in support of the 18-team proposed FKF league.

On Tuesday, the federation released a statement in response to an earlier KPL declaration that the 18-team league was non-negotiable.

“The decision to increase the number of clubs taking part in the KPL from 16 to 18 is therefore final and irreversible and FKF hereby directs all the 18 Premier League clubs, National Super League clubs and National Division One clubs to register with FKF by December 15, 2014 as per the provisions of the Constitution Article 10, failure to which the clubs will cease to be our members and they will immediately be replaced as we will not relent on our efforts of developing and promoting the game of football since that is our core mandate,” FKF president Sam Nyamweya stated.

Instead of his decree forcing KPL to relent, the Governing Council has confirmed they will not back away from what is set to be a bruising battle over the control of the country’s top flight.