Rugby Rugby

Glory beckons Prinsloo hat-trick champs KCB


KCB-SEVENS-CHAMPSNAKURU, Kenya, August 31-KCB inched closer to retaining the Safaricom Sevens Series title after squashing hosts Nakuru RFC 26-10 to bag the Prinsloo 7s honours on Sunday.

The Bankers who became the first team to win the Prinsloo 7s three times in a row now need to qualify for next weekend’s series closing Christie 7s Main Cup quarters to successfully defend the crown at Nairobi’s RFUEA Grounds.

The win saw KCB extend their lead at the top of the standings to 85 points, 17 ahead of Homeboyz while Nakuru comes third on 61 points.

“Its three years in a row winning the Prinsloo 7s, I’m happy the boys managed to win it despite having so many injuries. Many could not believe we will win without our key players like Andrew Amonde, Darwin Mukiza, Ken Moseti and Brian Omondi.

“It was hard defending the title infront of their fans who were intimidating but we managed to pin them down in the second half, so I can’t say we have lifted the series yet until we prove ourselves at Christie because anything can happen,” elated KCB head coach Curtis Olago said after the win.

Wanyore who whitewashed Western Bulls 20-0 to reach the finals, opened the scoring through Philip Kwame after sprinting from the left to touch down but the conversion went wide for a 5-0 lead.

Edwin Salamba cancelled the lead three minutes later after the hosts backs made a blunder for Salamba to ground underneath the post before converting.

Peter Kilonzo maximized Nakuru’s one man down after Lesly Ochieng was sent to the sin bin to extend the lead to 12-5 at the breather.

Nakuru entered the last half on a high with Charles Odhiambo reducing the deficit to two points but could not sustain the momentum as Jacob Ojee raced from the left to touch under the post for Salamba to convert.

Assistant captain Oliver Mang’eni hammered the final nail on the coffin after scoring KCB’s fourth try as Salamba converted for the win.

Impala beat Nondescript 29-7 to lift the Bowl while Lunch Bar Quins were crowned Shield winner following their 19-12 win over Kabras.

Mwamba won the Plate after edging out Western Bulls 33-5.