Froome to lead Team Sky Tour charge


FROOME-GFLONDON, June 27- Former winner Bradley Wiggins was not included in the Sky team announced Friday for this year’s Tour de France.

Wiggins, who won the race in 2012 — the same year he took Olympic time-trial gold — had long been resigned to being omitted from a team now built around Kenyan-born Chris Froome, last year’s Tour de France winner, and Sky boss Dave Brailsford confirmed his omission when unveiling his squad.

“It was a very tough decision,” said Brailsford. “Bradley’s been a great champion.”

Wiggins, who in winning the race two years ago became Britain’s first Tour de France champion, is now expected to turn his attention to competing at next month’s Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Froome will be supported by his long-time right hand man Richie Porte in a nine-strong Sky team which also includes Geraint Thomas, Mikel Nieve, Bernhard Eisel, Vasil Kiryienka, David Lopez, Danny Pate and Xabier Zandio.

The 21-stage race begins on July 5 in Leeds, northern England and will conclude on July 27 in Paris.