Motors Motors

Vet Duncan races to Kilifi honours


DUNCAN-EVOKILIFI, Kenya, November 2- Having already taken some impressive scalps in a breathtaking season, the legend Ian Duncan was at it again as he sped to victory in the KCB Kilifi Rally on Saturday.

Navigated by Amaar Slatch in a Mitsubishi Evolution 9, Duncan registered his third win of the season to seal second overall position in the 2013 Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC) series in the absence of speedsters Carl Tundo, Alastair Cavenagh and Azar Anwar who couldn’t make it to Kilifi.

Second overall in Kilifi was Quentin Mitchell who lost to Duncan by a mere 21 seconds while Jassi Chatthe of Kisumu sealed the podium dash.

Baldev Singh Chager, who had clinched the KNRC crown in the penultimate Guru Nanak Rally, didn’t compete for a top position as he was test driving an under-powered Porsche 911 in the run up to this month’s East African Safari Classic Rally.

Fears that the race could turn into a cliff-hanger evaporated soon enough as cars proceeded to the 30km Malomani stage.

Quentin was an earlier pacesetter as he returned the quickest stage time at the 6.19km Creek section.

But the good start was short-lived when Duncan snatched the lead and clung on to it to the very end of the last stage at CS11 Mazingira stage in Kilifi town.

The Mombasa Motor Club organised shakedown went down as the fastest rally of the season with smooth and flat-out sections based in Ganze and Bamba regions.

It also decided all the pending championship matters ending weeks of uncertainty and anticipation amongst teams.

Jaswinder Chana of CRS Motorsports retained the S/SPV Class champion for the second year running while Jaspreet “Jassi” Chatthe of Kisumu was crowned the KNRC Division 2 Champion. Hardev Sira went flatout to clinch the Classic Car cup in bravado.

The high-octane action proved quite unforgiving to some of the crews who failed to survive the flat-out conditions.

Peter Horsey retired in CS3 with radiator problems. He later admitted that it was his error that saw his Datsun “Moto Moto” Pick-up conk out.

“We were going really well in the first two stages and were all happy with the stage times but the roads were loose at some points so I miscalculated a note and went off,” he added.

Other casualties were Victor Okundi, Farhaan Khan, Yusuf Pasta, Adin Haq and

Tejvir Rai and Zahir Shah retired in CS2 stage when their Subaru N16 lost brakes.

Manvir Baryan also kissed the event goodbye in CS2 when the engine of his Subaru N16 packed up.

“We were going for a win in the coast but the engine let us down when we were going really fast,” said Manvir of MRT racing.


Ian Duncan (EVO9) 1:41.19

Quentin Mitchell (Subaru N16)1:41.40

Jassi Chatthe (EVOX) 1:44.47

Izhar Mirza (EVO9) 1:45.08

Hardeep Rehsi (EVO9)1:46.18

Rajbir Rai (EVOX) 1:46.54

Issa Amwari (EVO9) 1:48.47

Jasmeet Chana (EVOX) 1:50.07

Frank Tundo (EVO9)  1:50.25

Alex Horsey (EVOX) 1:51.19

Farhazz Khan (Subaru N10) 1.54.45

Naushad Kara (Subaru N16)2.01.12

Jazzy Chana (Toyota Celica GT4) 2:02.53

Steve Mwangi (Subaru N10) 2:05.05

Alasdair Keith (Subaru gc8)2:05.25

Davinder Saimbi (Subaru N16)2:05.51

Hussein Malik (Subaru gc8)2:10.29

Hardev S. Sira (Ford Escort Mexico) 2:11.19

Aslam Khan ()2:14.53

Adin Haq 2:16.23

Dennis Mwenda 2.16.56

Harpreet Sagoo 2:19.29

Leo Varese 2:21.37

Manmeet Singh 2:28.34

Janmohammed Abdullatiff 2:29.29

Rob Hellier 2:35.07

Phiys Wambui 2:36.27

Eric Njogu 2:37.29

Joan Nesbitt 2.51.18