Rugby Rugby

Revamped Kenya Cup ready for scrum down


KCB-SEVENS-CHAMPSNAIROBI, Kenya, October 30 – Focus now shifts to the 2013/14 domestic league season that will see Mombasa Sports Club and Eldoret RFC participate in the Kenya Cup for the first time following the conclusion of the Impala Floodlit curtain raiser.

The league that will also incorporate Nationwide and Eric Shirley Shield kicks-off on Saturday at different venues across the country unlike last season where it was staged in Nairobi.

Eldoret make their Kenya Cup debut with their last major honour being an Enterprise Cup triumph in 1947 while Mombasa returns to the league after a six-year absence.

The country’s top league will for the first time feature 14 sides, five of which are from outside Nairobi namely defending champions Top Fry Nakuru, Western Bulls, Mombasa Sports Club, Kisumu RFC and Eldoret RFC.

The expanded league that brings it a total of 95 matches will be played in a one-off round robin format with top four sides after 13 rounds of action heading into the one-legged semi finals.

This season will also witness two teams relegated to the lower league with the top two sides in nationwide earning promotion.

The Eric Shirley Shield will feature the reserve sides of all 14 Kenya Cup sides, playing the same format as the top flight league.

The Chairman’s League has been scrapped off and instead the participating teams absorbed into an expanded Nationwide League that will be played in five regionally split pools.

The top-eight teams at the close of pool play will proceed to the quarter final play-offs with the finalists earning promotion to the 2014/2015 Kenya Cup.

Participating teams

Kenya Cup

Top Fry Nakuru

Strathmore Leos



Lunch Bar Quins


Total Nondies

Western Bulls


Mean Machine


Blak Blad



Eric Shirley Shield

Quins II


Impala II

Nondies II

Western Bulls II

Nakuru II

Machine II

Eldoret II

Blad II

Mombasa II

Strathmore II

Homeboyz II

Kisumu II

Mwamba II

Nationwide League

Nairobi Region

Daystar University

Technical University of Kenya

Catholic University of East Africa






KEMU Nairobi

Mount Kenya University RFC

Impala III

Brumbies RFC

Oryx RFC