Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


World Cup trophy to colour Cecafa tourney

WORLD-CUP-TROPHYNAIROBI, Kenya, October 3 – The FIFA World Cup trophy will once again make a stop in Kenya to coincide with the opening ceremony of the 2013 Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup on November 12, organisers have announced.

Thus far, 12 nations have confirmed participation from the region with Malawi, Zambia and Ivory Coast being the countries outside East Africa that have been invited for the event that ends on December 12, the day Kenya will mark 50 years of independence, adding gloss to the planned mammoth Jubilee Celebrations.

A Local Organising Committee (LOC) meeting attended by Cecafa Secretary General, Nicholas Musonye and Football Kenya Federation President Sam Nyamweya also declared the two-week showdown will be staged in Nairobi, Nakuru, Mumias and Mombasa to tap into as many fans as possible.

While launching the steering and sub-committees, Nyamweya said Kenya is ready to host one of the best ever tournaments and has received endorsement from FIFA, CAF and Government.

”We are also excited that the CAF President Issa Hayatou has accepted to grace the tournament and we expect other important football personalities.

“We are working very closely with FIFA and the contractor has assured us that the laying of the most ultra-modern artificial turf at the Kisumu Municipal Stadium will be completed in mid-November.

“We are now sending a passionate appeal to corporate companies to partner with the federation towards the success of this exciting tournament,” he added.

On his part, Musonye lauded the Federation for launching the committees in good time.

”We are proud that the tournament is back home and the member countries are excited to be in Kenya.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“We have seen the Government’s commitment and have assured us total support, we shall work together to showcase Kenya’s hospitality,” he stated.

The tourney will be aired live by SuperSport across Africa while partnering with host broadcaster, Kenya Broadcasting Corporation who will beam the feed countrywide on a free to air agreement.

Uganda Cranes are the defending champions after beating perennial rivals Kenya 2-1 in Kampala, last year.

The last time the World Cup trophy made a stop in Kenya was in 2009 in its tour ahead of the 2010 Mundial in South Africa.


Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Sudan, Burundi, South Sudan, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Zanzibar and Somalia.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved