Rugby Rugby

Debutant Sikuta in Gold Coast 7s squad


AMONDE-SAF-7sNAIROBI, Kenya, September 27 – Mwamba Rugby Football Club winger Daniel Sikuta is the only debutant in the national team for the Gold Coast 7s in Australia that was unveiled on Friday as Kenya seeks to make a storming start in the 2013/14 HSBC World Series opener that will run on the weekend of October 12 and 13.

The winger was selected after impressive performances during Safaricom Sevens won by the national side Shujaa last weekend.

Speaking during the unveiling of the 12-man squad, Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) Chairman, Mwangi Muthee, said Kenya will have a new head coach after the Australia showdown even after expressing confidence in interim manager Felix Ochieng’.

“We have full faith in Ochieng taking the team to Gold Coast and the commander himself Andrew Amonde, this team is going to Australia to conquer.

“Kenya still needs a professional coach, we are almost zeroing in on the next man after short listing the applicants down to two, who are based in South Africa and New Zealand.

“By the time we come from Gold Coast, we will have a professional head coach as we look to dominate rugby in the coming days. I have no doubt that with time Kenya will be the best rugby playing nation worldwide,” Muthee declared.

Kenya Harlequins Sidney Ashioya, KCB’s Fabian Olando and Billy Odhiambo from Strathmore Leos made comebacks to the team that finished fifth overall in the World Series last season with 99 points.

Team captain Amonde assured Kenyans to expect nothing less than a win as the team departs on Sunday.

“We going out to Gold Coast well aware of our goals, we have a chance to prove ourselves. We are going for nothing less than a win for the team and for Kenya.”

Kenya will take on defending Champions New Zealand, Tonga and USA in group A.

Kenya Squad to Gold Coast:

1. Andrew Amonde – KCB (Captain)

2. Collins Injera – Mwamba (Vice Captain)

3. Oscar Ouma – Nakuru RFC

4. Patrice Agunda – Kenya Harlequin FC

5. Dan Sikuta- Mwamba

6. Philip Wamae – KCB

7. Felix Ayange- Kenya Harlequin FC

8. Sidney Ashioya – Kenya Harlequin FC

9. Biko Adema- Nondescript RFC

10. Fabian Olando- KCB

11. Billy Odhiambo- Strathmore Leos RFC

12. Eden Agero- Kenya Harlequin FC