Rugby Rugby

Still no coach in sight as 7s squads named


COLLINS-INJERANAIROBI, Kenya, September 19 – The search for new national rugby sevens coach will take longer than expected, Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) chairman Mwangi Muthee confirmed adding they were still  in the process of identifying the right tactician who is expected to run the boys in the Dubai 7s.

interim coach Felix Ochieng will take charge of the team at this weekend’s Safaricom Sevens and the opening of 2013/14 HSBC Sevens World Series show down, the Gold Coast 7s in Australia slotted for the weekend of October 10 to 12.

“ This game has changed tremendously, it’s not a matter of giving the coach the whistle or a few tackle bags and tell him go take charge of the team, the game has become very scientific and for Kenya to get to the next level we must do what the big boys are doing” Muthee explained.

About 15 foreign experts applied for the job that fell vacant after Mike Friday resigned in July.

The job had been widely tipped for former South African 7s head coach Paul Treu.

He was speaking when the Kenyan national squads for the Safaricom 7s, Shujaa and Moran were unveiled on Wednesday where Nakuru RFC Oscar Ouma will captain a strong main team that comprises of Andre Amonde, Lavin Asego, Sidney Ashioya, Eden Agero and Felix Ayange among others.

The Morans will see five debutants join the side that have experienced players like KCBs Fabian Olando, Davis Chenge (Western Bulls) and Mwamba RFC duo of Collins Injera and Daniel Sikuta.

Biko Adema, Horrace Otieno, Dennis Muhanji, Sammy Oliech and Joshua Chisanga are ruled out of the pristine local invitational showpiece due to injury.


Kenyan squads for Safaricom Sevens


1. Oscar Ouma – NAKURU RFC

2. Patrice Agunda – QUINS

3. Mike Agevi – MWAMBA

4. Philip Wamae – KCB

5. Andrew Amonde -KCB

6. Lavin Asego – MWAMBA

7. Sidney Ashioya -QUINS

8. Mike Wanjala – STRATHMORE

9. Eden Agero – QUINS

10.Billy Odhiambo – STRATHMORE

11. Oscar Ayodi – HOMEBOYZ

12. Cyprian Kuto – STRATHMORE

13. Felix Ayange – QUINS



1. Davis Chenge – WESTERN BULLS

2.Dan Sikuta – MWAMBA

3. Charles Omondi – STRATHMORE

4. Humphrey Mulama – HOMEBOYZ

5. Tony Owuor – STRATHMORE

6. Augustine Lugonzo – HOMEBOYZ

7. Fabian Olando- KCB

8. Kevin Keegan – QUINS

9. Leonard Mugaisi – HOMEBOYZ

10. Darwin Mukidza – KCB

11. Chris Asego- MWAMBA

12. Tony Onyango – STRATHMORE

13. Collins Injera – MWAMBA


COACH: Felix Ochieng

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)