Athletics Athletics

Drama, tears as Kenya selects Ukraine team


VEDIC-YOUTHNAIROBI, Kenya, Jun 12 – Kenya will be represented by 20 athletes in the forthcoming 8th IAAF World Youth Championships in Donetsk, Ukraine after the Trials ended Wednesday at Nairobi’s Nyayo National Stadium.

World Junior women 3000m titleholder, Mercy Chebwogen and fellow Barcelona women’s steeple gold medallist, Daisy Jepkemei were stunned as the two-day event concluded in the major upsets of the meeting on the final day.

The event was also blighted by six athletes being disqualified from competing by Athletics Kenya (AK) after they were found guilty of age cheating and impersonation in an outcome that delayed the start of the showdown by five hours on Day 1.

Controversy erupted after AK deputy president and chairman of the Youth Committee at the federation, Lt General (Retired) Jack Tuwei named the squad when two athletes who had beaten the entry standards for the Donetsk event were not included in the line-up.

Geoffrey Kipkoech who won the boys’ 400m Hurdles final in 51.3 that is well below the entry standard of the 2013 World Youth of 55.80 as well as Anastasia Kanini who won the girls’ 400m decider in 56.60 that is also below the 57.60 entry mark wept after they were omitted.

Officials did not give an explanation why the pair were not named in a team that apart from the traditional distance event Kenya excels in, will also feature four short distance runners as the country seeks to broaden her medal catchment.

On the track, Chebwogen who struck her country’s first gold over 3000m in a 9:08.88 career best in Barcelona last year, failed to reproduce similar form on Wednesday as little known Lilian Kasait beat her in the dash for the finish line with 9:01.7 against 9:12.0 to comprehensively hand the champion defeat.

World junior 5,000m bronze medallist Agnes Chebet was never in contention as her Ukraine hopes ended.

Jepkemei who won the women’s steeple in Spain was also compelled to play the bridesmaid role by Rosefline Chepng’etich who created a buzz during the local Cross Country Series that ended in February.

The ultimate decided to test her ability in the water and barriers race for the first time and duly closed in for victory in 6:12.0 with the Barcelona starlet coming in a distant second in 6:27.7.

After winning the 1500m at the inaugural Africa Youth Championships in Warri, Nigeria, Robert Rono Biwott laid out a marker as one of the possible headliners in Ukraine when he crushed the competition to win the boys’ 1500m final in 3:38.5.

Titus Kipruto (3:39.7) finished second in the mad scramble for the second berth as Warri silver medallist Patrick Kiprotich and bronze winner Patrick Rono fell by the wayside.

Geoffrey Kiprotich and Stanley Kitei who dipped in 21:73 and 21:85 in that order will carry their nation’s flag in the boys 200m with the former finishing fourth in the 400m where he timed 48:04.

Ian Mutuku (47.40) and Alex Sampao (47.70) complete the short distance runners in the squad after the registered the 1-2 during the Wednesday finals of the 400m event.

On the opening day, AK officials spent almost six hours sifting through the documents availed by the competitors and in the end, six were found to have falsified their ages or forged identity for the world event open to runners between 16 and 17 years.

Local coach, Amos Rono, had three of his athletes disqualified as AK top brass pledged to rein in on the vice.

“We are warning everyone involved in cheating, we are waiting for the report from the Youth Committee and whatever recommendations they give will be discussed and appropriate action taken,” AK first deputy president, David Okeyo said.


BOYS: Geoffrey Kiprotich, Stanley Kieti (200m), Ian Mutuku, Alex Sampao (400m), Alfred Kipketer, Patrick Rono (800m), Robert Kiptoo, Titus Kipruto (1500m), Vedic Kipkoech, Alexander Mutiso (3000m), Kiptanui Bett, Justus Kipkorir (2000m s/chase)

GIRLS: Agnes Mulee, Jarinter Mawia (800m), Irene Chepkemoi, Eunice Lucia (1500m), Lilian Kasait, Mercy Chebwogen (3000m), Rosefline Chepng’etich, Daisy Jepkemei (2000m s/chase).



200m men

1. Geoffrey Kiprotich (Central Rift) 21.73

2. Stanley Kieti (Machakos) 21.85

3. Josphat Ngeno (South Rift) 22.43

4. Daudi Lomalio (South Rift) 22.76

5. Philemon Koinari (Southern) 23.18


1. Ian Mutuku (South Rift) 47.40

2. Alex Sampao (Central Rift) 47.70

3. Evans Rono (South Rift) 47.72

4. Geoffrey Kiprotich (Central Rift) 48.04

5. Duncan Ololoilusha 49.06


1. Alfred Kipketer (Ksssa) 1:46.2

2. Patrick Rono (South Rift) 1:46.6

3. Weldon Ngetich (Nakuru) 1:48.7

4. Joshua Masikonde (Ksssa) 1:51.0

5. Albunus Kyulu (Southern) 1:51.2


1. Robert Kiptoo (South Rift) 3:38.5

2. Titus Kipruto (Southern) 3:39.7

3. Kennedy Cheruiyot (Nakuru) 3:50.7

4. Gilbert Kwemboi (Western) 3:53.4

5. Shadrack Cheruiyot (South Rift) 4:04.3


1. Vedic Kipkoech (Marakwet) 7:52.0

2. Alexander Mutiso (Ksssa) 7:59.1

3. Daniel Kipkemboi ( South Rift) 8:02.3

4. Justin Moseti (Ksssa) 8:08.4

5. Meshack Leina (South Rift) 8:12.6

400m Hurdles

1. Geoffrey Kipkoech (Nairobi) 51.3

2. Titus Mutua (Machakos) 52.0

3. Erick Kiptoo (Nairobi) 52.2

4. Edwin Nyandege (Nyanza) 54.0

5. Tony Kibet (South Rift) 56.5

2000m steeple

1. Kiptanui Bett (South Rift) 5:29.2

2. Justus Kipkorir (Nairobi) 5:31.6

3. James Ndiwa (Nairobi) 5:40.5

4. Vincent Kipyegon (South Rift) 5:41.4

5. Solomon Kipkoech (North Rift) 5:45.3



1. Maureen Thomas (South Nyanza) 25.00

2. Hellen Syombua (Machakos) 25.79

3. Tabitha Waruguru (South Rift) 27.24

4. Mary Wakangi (South Rift) 27.24

5. Jean Bisela (Loitoktok) 28.74


1. Anastacia Kanini (Ksssa) 56.60

2. Dorothy Chepkosgei (North Rift) 57.01

3. Maureen Cherono (Nakuru) 58.9

4. Eglay Nafuna Naiyanya 59.41

5. Brenda Mukwana (Central) 61.08


1. Agnes Mulee 2:06.8

2. Jarinter Mawia (Ksssa) 2:07.3

3. Vivian Jepkemei (Central Rift) 2:07.6

4. Joyline Chepng’eno (Nakuru) 2:10.8

5. Joyline Cherotich (Nakuru) 2:13.3


1. Irine Chepkemoi (North Rift) 4:19.7

2. Eunice Lucia (Southern) 4:20.2

3. Margaret Marinjo (Aberdares) 4:22.0

4. Gloria Jebiwott (North Rift) 4:23.2

5. Evaline Kemboi (North Rift) 4:28.7


1. Lilian Kasait (North Rift) 9:01.7

2. Mercy Chebwogen 9:12.0

3. Valentine Chepkwemoi (Nzoia) 9:15.3

4. Loise Chemnung (North Rift) 9:26.3

5. Victoria Mwikali (Southern) 9:31.4

2000m Steeple

1. Rosefline Chepng’etich (Nakuru) 6:12.0

2. Daisy Jepkemei (North Rift) 6:27.7

3. Stella Ruto (North Rift) 6:33.8

4. Esther Muthoni (Nakuru) 6:47.0

5. Fancy Chepkirui (North Rift) 6:48.4