Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Six newcomers in Amrouche maiden Stars squad

AMROUCHE-XINHUANAIROBI, Kenya, Feb 28- Six new call-ups are in the initial squad of 27 named by new Harambee Stars coach, Adel Amrouche as the preparations for the 2014 World Cup qualifiers against Nigeria started to take shape.

The Algerian born Belgian coach who took the reigns of the side last week also brought back four players to the national team’s fold with the call-ups starting training for the March 22 clash against the Super Eagles assembling next week.

“I have called up an initial 27 players that I intend to closely monitor in training so that I can make a final decision.

“However, all players must know the doors to the national team are not closed as I will still beef up the squad. We will be going to camp after the elections where I will also name the foreign based players to join us later,” the new man told

He added they were seeking to feature in build-up matches with Football Kenya Federation (FKF) that dispatched the team to the media on Thursday already talking of playing Egypt and Congo Brazzaville ahead of the crunch Nigeria tie in Calabar.

Tusker FC pair Michael Olunga and Jesse Were, Daniel Onyango (Western Stima), Mohammed Hassan (KRA), Crispin Odula and Aboud Omar (both Bandari) are in the frame for maiden caps as the fresh faces in the preliminary squad.

Former Petro Atletico forward and AFC Leopards marksman Allan Wanga, Fredrick Onyango (Gor Mahia) and the Sofapaka FC quartet of Collins Kisuya, James Situma, Bob Mugalia and Antony Kimani are the returnees to the national team.


Goalkeepers: Duncan Ochieng(Sofapaka), Boniface Oluoch (Tusker), Fredrick Onyango(Gor Mahia)

Defenders: Edwin Wafula(AFC Leopards), James Situma(Sofapaka), Abdalla Juma(Sofapaka), Collins Kisuya(Sofapaka), Aboud Omar(Bandari), David Owino(Gor Mahia), David Ochieng(Tusker), Eugene Asike(Sofapaka), Mulinge Munandi(Ulinzi Stars)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Midfielders: Chrispin Odula(Bandari), Antony Akumu(Gor Mahia), Antony Kimani(Sofapaka), Peter Opiyo(Tusker), Daniel Onyango(Western Stima), Kevin Omondi(Gor Mahia).

Strikers: Bob Mugalia(Sofapaka), Francis Kahata(Thika United), Paul Were(AFC Leopards), Jesse Were(Tusker), Rama Salim(Gor Mahia), Michael Olunga(Tusker), Allan Wanga(AFC Leopards), Mohammed Hassan(KRA)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved