Football Football

Stars new boss to be unveiled Wednesday


STARS-ERITREANAIROBI, Kenya, February 19- The latest occupant of the Harambee Stars head coach hot seat is set to be finally unveiled on Wednesday with Algerian born Belgian national, Adel Amrouche largely tipped as the 11th man in a decade to take the helm.

Amrouche, who resigned from a similar role with Burundi last year, has been in the country seemingly to tie up the final details of his contract although Football Kenya Federation (FKF) has continually denied he is their choice.

On Tuesday, the federation announced that three other candidates, the incumbent coaches of Uganda, Bob Williamson and Rwanda, Milutin ‘Michu’ Sredojević as well as former France boss, Raymond Domenech ‘had made the final short-list.’

In true FKF fashion, ‘the venue and time (of the unveiling) will be confirmed later’ as the wait for the successor to Frenchman Henri Michel draws to an end.

The new man in charge has the task of preparing the team that was buoyed by a 3-0 shellacking of Libya in their last international friendly a fortnight ago to face the might of the Super Eagles of Nigeria in a 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifier away next month.

Michel quit in a huff following his high profile appointment last September after running into loggerheads with the federation over his expensive contract said to have been worth an astronomical Sh4m per month, much more than the official salary of President Mwai Kibaki.

Both Williamson and Sredojevic are reported to have come for interviews with FKF before returning to their countries to prepare for their 2-2 international friendly played at Kigali.

The insistence by FKF chief, Sam Nyamweya, that they would hire a coach who understands English could have tipped the scales in favour of Amrouche over Domenech who was also short-listed for the role before Michel was hired.

Harambee Stars new head coach will be assisted by James Nandwa who has been in temporally charge since January after Michel threw in the towel.


Jacob “Ghost” Mulee (2003−04, 2007-2008, 2010)
Twahir Muhiddin (2004−05, 2009-2010)
Mohammed Kheri (2005)
Bernard Lama (2006)
Tom Olaba (2006)
Francis Kimanzi (2008−09, 2011-2012)
Antoine Hey (2009)
Twahir Muhiddin (2009−10)
Zedekiah Otieno (2010−11)
Henri Michel (2012)