Athletics Athletics

Rudisha gets third IAAF World Athlete nod


MONACO, France, October 8- Olympic champion and world record holder, David Rudisha, has been nominated for the IAAF World Male Athlete of the Year for the third year in a row.

Rudisha has been cited for the top award on Monday for winning the Olympic 800m gold in a World record time of 1 minute 40.91 seconds without a pacemaker according.

The winners will be announced on November 24 in Barcelona during the centenary celebrations of IAAF.

AAF and IAF Council Members, IAAF member federations, IAAF committee and commission members, one-day meeting directors, IAAF ambassadors, athletes’ representatives, top athletes, selected international press and IAAF staff members will participate in the first round of voting.

Each will submit one vote for the Male and Female athlete of the year from a nominee list of 20 with the submissions closing on October 28 after which the top three nominees apiece will be announced by the world body.

Rudisha won the accolade in 2010 and was a finalist last year when Bolt reclaimed the top honour.

Jamaica triple Olympic champion, Usain Bolt, compatriot Yohan Blake and British double distance London winner, Mo Farah, compatriot and Decathlon gold medallist, Ashton Eaton and German Discus Olympic and European titleholder, Robert Harting also made the men’s list.

London winners Kirani James (400m/Granada), Renaud Lavillenie (Pole Vault/France), Aries Meritt (11om Hurdles/USA) and Christian Taylor (Triple jump/USA) complete the men’s list.

After double World Champion, Vivian Cheruiyot narrowly missed out on hurdler, Sally Pearson last year, no Kenyan female athlete made the ten nominees.

Former winner, Tirunesh Dibaba returns to the nominee list after two seasons following her epic third Olympics triumph in London alongside Pearson who also left London with the top medal.

Valerie Adams (Shot put/New Zealand), Jessica Ennis (Heptathlon/Britain), Allyson Felix (200m/USA), Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (200m/Jamaica), Yelena Lashmanova (20km Race Walking/Russia), Brittney Reese (Long jump/USA), Sanya Richard-Ross (400m/USA) and Barbora Spotakova (Javelin/Czech Republic) complete the women’s nominees.