Motors Motors

All set for Eldoret Rally rumble


ELDORET, Kenya, October 5- Forty-nine cars went through the mandatory scrutineering on Friday afternoon ahead of the KCB Asset Finance rally set to reverberate through Eldoret town.

Drivers and their crew earlier had a feel of the various sections set out for Saturday’s action describing the route as rough and dusty in the scenic Kaptagat and Iten satellite townships.

The race which is the penultimate event of the Kenya National Rally Championship is expected to crown the new titleholder with series leader Carl Tundo billed to rule the roost with a podium finish tomorrow.

Tundo, who holds an 85 point cushion between him and probably the only challenger left in veteran Ian Duncan, will be looking to drive sensibly enough to hold off his competitor if he also manages to put in a polished performance.

To add to the joy of the occasion if he does not blow up his title bid, the leader will be keeping close to his phone since he is also anticipating a very important call from back home with his newly wedded wife due with their first child.

The main event begins Saturday at 7am outside the KCB branch on Uganda road to tackle the 274km route.

A spectator stage has been set up at Kaptagat on the Eldoret-Eldama Ravine road 19km from the start. Cars will be there from 11am until 4pm complete with a rally village.

First car will be expected at Salaba Academy at around 2:13pm for the end of the finish.

Quentin Mitchell will be on pole with Tundo, Alistair Cavenagh, Duncan and Baldev Chager completing the top five starters.

Entry List- KCB Asset Finance Rally

Quentin Mitchell/G. Mayes (Subaru N16); Carl Tundo/Tim Jessop (EVO9); A. Cavenagh/G. Laurence (EVO9); Ian Duncan/A. Slatch (EVO9); Baldev Chager/Raju Sehmi (Subaru N16); Azar Anwar/Julius Ngige (EVO8); Jassy Chathe/Gugu Panesar (EVO9); Onkar Rai/R. Chagger (Subaru); Izhar Mirza/Zahir Shah (EVO9); Manvir Baryan/Nicola Arena (Subaru N16); Anwar Pandya/Ken Masoni (Subaru); Charles Hinga/Noriss Ongalo (EVO7); Fahd Bary/Shameer Yusuf (EVO9); Don Smith/Bob Kaugi (Subaru); Ghalib Haji/Sinder Sudle (EVOX); Jaswinder Chana/Ravi Chana (Toyota Celica GT4); Issa Amwari/Job Njiru (Subaru); John Nganga/G. Njoroge (Subaru); Tejvir Rai/G. Mwangi (Subaru); Jasmeet Chana/Rohit Bhudia (Toyota Celica GT4); Ben Muchemi/E. Mwenda (Subaru); Aakif Virani/Azhar Bhatti (Subaru N16); Farhaz Khan/K. Henrie (Subaru); John Muigai/Allan Muhindi (Subaru); Mahesh Halai/Ketan Halai (Subaru); Alasdair Keith/Tarik Malik (Subaru); Nzioka Waita/Laban Cliff (Subaru); Aslam Khan/Arshad Khan (Porsche 911); Khalfan Athman/A. Athman (Subaru N11); Anthony Tibo/Kavit Dave (Subaru); Edward Maina/Tonny Kimondo (Toyota Celica); Rashid Kabi/Nehreen Ismail (Subaru gc8); Gurmit Thethy/D. Kalsi (VW Golf GTI); Dennis Mwenda/Edward Njoroge (Toyota Sprinter GT); Niaz Bashir/J. Kosgei (Toyota Celica); Leo Varese/Kigo Kareithi (VW Golf GTI); Nadeem Kana/James Mwangi (Subaru); Patrick Kibaara/J. Mwachuya (Toyota Levin); Victor Okundi/ Tuta Mionki (Toyota Vitz); Sammy Nyorri/Wambui Kairu (Toyota Vitz); Khalid Umar/S. Umar (Subaru); Hardev S. Sira/Jasneil Ghataure (Ford Escort Mexico); Gurdeep Brar/Jasmeet Khaira (Subaru); Dilraj Bhui/Savraj Bhui (Subaru); Stella Macharia/Helen Shiri (Subaru); Imran Kana/Mohamed Kana (Toyota Levin); Jeff Mburu/R. Muriuki (Toyota Levin); Caroline Gatimu/Linet Ayuko (VW Golf GTI); Phillis Wambui/Steven Nyorri (Toyota Levin).